Diversity Advisory Committee


Committee

Name Email
Term Ends
Carlos Castillo-Chavez (Chair) ccchavez@asu.edu
2016
Ricardo Cortez rcortez@tulane.edu
2014
Malena Espanol mespano@uakron.edu
2016
Illya Hicks ivhicks@rice.edu
2015
Trachette Jackson tjacks@umich.edu
2014
David Manderscheid

manderscheid.1@osu.edu

2014
Ami Radunskaya aradunskaya@pomona.edu
2015
Richard Tapia rat@rice.edu
2015
Luis Tenorio ltenorio@mines.edu
2016
Konstantina Trivisa trivisa@math.umd.edu
2016
Cristina Villalobos mcvilla@utpa.edu
2014
Andrea Walther andrea.walther@uni-paderborn.de
2016
Carol Woodward (JCW Rep) woodward6@llnl.gov
2016

 

Charge for the SIAM Diversity Advisory Committee

The purpose of the SIAM Diversity Advisory Committee is to assist SIAM in addressing policy issues that arise in relationship to underrepresented groups.  The committee will consist of a chair and up to twelve members.   Designated within the committee are a working group to oversee the Workshop Celebrating Diversity at the SIAM Annual Meetings (described below), a liaison from the AWM, and a liaison from the Joint Committee on Women. All appointments are subject to the approval of the SIAM President.

Overseeing the Workshop Celebrating Diversity Program

The committee acts as a steering committee to provide oversight for the development of the Workshop Celebrating Diversity at the SIAM Annual Meetings.  The committee sets the general guidelines for the Workshop so as to present a consistent presence at the annual meetings. The guidelines give an overview of the format of the Workshop Celebrating Diversity, including whether it is run as a separate meeting or is blended into the annual meeting.  

The chair of the committee will appoint a working group* to oversee organization of the Workshop Celebrating Diversity.  The working group will consist of three (3) members, with three (3) year terms; the second-year member chairs the committee.  Members of the working group do not need to be members of the Diversity Advisory Committee.  Terms start in August.  The working group will appoint a person (subject to approval by the SIAM Vice President for Programs) to be a liaison to the SIAM Annual Meeting Organizing Committee.

Other Responsibilities

The committee is encouraged to bring to the attention of the SIAM Council other opportunities to promote diversity within the community served by SIAM. 

The committee will be available for consultation on diversity issues that come to SIAM’s attention through the membership or the activities it sponsors.  This may include help in developing topics for articles in SIAM News, providing counsel to the SIAM Committee on Programs and Conferences and chairs of conference organizing committees, and assisting in collection or management of data related to questions of diversity.

Terms of the Committee Members

The term of the committee members and chair is for a period of three (3) years which can be renewed.  Terms will be staggered so one-third of the committee members’ terms will expire each year.  SIAM recommends that appointed committee members serve at most two consecutive terms, although exceptions can be made in special circumstances.

Staff liaison to this committee is the SIAM Director of Program and Services.

The SIAM President, in consultation with the SIAM Secretary, shall make the at-large appointments to this committee. Committee membership should reflect the breadth and diversity of the Society. Committee members should have broad knowledge of the Society and its members.

 

*WCD Working Group

Name Email Term Ends
Raegan Higgins raegan.higgins@ttu.edu July 30, 2017
Sue Minkoff, Chair sminkoff@utdallas.edu July 30, 2016
Stephen Wirkus Stephen.Wirkus@asu.edu July 30, 2015

Renew SIAM · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube