Call for 2007 Nominations: Fifth Vasil A. Popov Prize

April 28, 2006

Deadline: November 1, 2006

The Fifth Vasil A. Popov Prize will be awarded at the Twelfth International Conference on Approximation Theory to be held March 4-7, 2007 in San Antonio, Texas. The Prize has been established in memory of the Bulgarian analyst, Vasil A. Popov, best known for his contributions to approximation theory.

The Prize, which consists of an engraved marble trophy and a cash award, is awarded every third year for outstanding research contributions in fields related to Vasil Popov's work. Eligibility for this Prize is restricted to young mathematicians (defined as a person who has received their PhD degree within the past six years) who did not have their terminal degree on June 1, 2000. The winner of the Prize will be asked to deliver a plenary lecture at the Conference.

The First Prize in 1995 was awarded to Albert Cohen (Paris VI); the Second Prize in 1998 to Arno Kuijlaars (Katholieke Universiteit in Leuven, Belgium); the Third Prize in 2001 to Emmanuel Candes (Cal Tech); and the Fourth Prize in 2004 to Serguei Denissov (Cal Tech).

The Selection Committee for the Fifth Vasil A. Popov Prize consists of Charles Chui (University of Missouri at St. Louis), Wolfgang Dahmen (RWTH-Aachen), Paul Nevai (The Ohio State University), Allan Pinkus (Technion-Haifa), Pencho Petrushev (University of South Carolina), and Edward Saff (Vanderbilt University).

Letters of nomination should include a brief description of the research related to the nomination and a vita of the nominee. Other supporting material may also be submitted.

All nominations must be received no later than November 1, 2006. Nominations for the award and any supporting materials should be sent electronically or as hardcopies to:

Pencho Petrushev, Chair

Popov Prize Selection Committee

Department of Mathematics

University of South Carolina

Columbia, SC 29208

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+