ICIAM 2007 Prizes Announced

September 19, 2006

The International Council for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM) announced on September 18, 2006 the winners of the prestigious ICIAM prizes. Among the awards is the Pioneer Prize, funded by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM).

The 2007 ICIAM prizes will be awarded to: Ingrid Daubechies (Princeton University, USA) and Heinz Engl (Johannes Kepler Universitšt Linz, Austria and Austrian Academy of Sciences), Felix Otto (Universitšt Bonn, Germany), Joseph Keller (Stanford University, USA), Peter Deuflhard (Zuse Institute Berlin, Germany), Gilbert Strang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology).

The 2007 Pioneer Prize will be awarded jointly to Ingrid Daubuechies of Princeton University and Heinze Engl of Joannes Kepler Universitat, Linz. The Pioneer Prize recognizes pioneering work introducing applied mathematical methods and scientific computing techniques to an industrial problem area or a new scientific field of application.

The Collatz Prize, funded by GAMM, will be awarded to Felix Otto.

The Lagrange Prize, funded by SMAI, SEMA, and SIMAI, will be awarded to Joseph Keller of Stanford University.

The Maxwell Prize, funded by the IMA, will be awarded to Peter Deuflhard of ZIB, Berlin.

The newest ICIAM prize, the Su Buchin Prize, will be awarded to Gilbert Strang of MIT.

These awards are given every four years at the International Congress for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM). The prizes announced today will be awarded at the ICIAM07 in Zurich (see http://www.iciam07.ch/poster). ICIAM forms the prize selection committees for each prize, although prizes are funded by individual member societies of ICIAM.

The press release for the awards may be found at the ICIAM web site (http://www.iciam.org/prizes2007.html).

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+