SIAM 50th Anniversary and 2002 Annual Meeting

SIAM50 Prizes


Special Lectures

Tuesday, July 9
12:30 PM - 2:00 PM SIAM Award Luncheon at Loews Hotel
The following prizes and awards are being presented during the Award Luncheon:

The following prizes will have an additional lecture session:

3:00 PM–3:30 PM

The W.T. and Idalia Reid Prize

This prize is awarded for research in, or other contributions to, the broadly defined areas of differential equations and control theory. Each prize may be given either for a single notable achievement or a collection of such achievements. The prize and lecture are given each year at the annual meeting of SIAM.

This year’s recipient: H. Thomas Banks, North Carolina State University
"Riccati Equations in Feedback Control and Estimation"

6:15 PM-7:15 PM

I.E. Block Community Lecture

The I.E. Block Community Lecture is open to the public, and is intended to encourage public appreciation of the excitement and vitality of science. The Community Lecture is named in honor of SIAM's longtime managing Director, one of SIAM's founders. The public is invited to the Community Reception afterwards.

This year's lecturer: Christoph Bregler, Stanford University
"From Muybridge to Virtual Humans, the Mathematics of Motion Pictures"

Wednesday, July 10, 2002
3:00 PM–3:45 PM

The John von Neumann Lecture

Established in 1959, this prize is awarded to a mathematician, or a scientist in another field, who has made a distinguished contribution to pure and/or applied mathematics. This award is normally given every year at the SIAM Annual Meeting

This year’s recipient:
The Human Genome and Beyond
Eric Lander, Whitehead Institute,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Thursday, July 11, 2002
3:00 PM–3:30 PM

The Julian Cole Lectureship

The Julian Cole Lectureship is awarded for an outstanding contribution to the mathematical characterization and solution of a challenging problem in the physical or biological sciences or for the development of mathematical methods for the solution of such problems.

This year’s recipient: Jonathan Chapman, Oxford University

Friday, July 12, 2002
3:00 PM–3:30 PM George Polya Prize Lecture

The George Polya is given every two years, alternately in two categories. The 2002 prize will be for a notable contribution in one of several areas of interest to George Polya such as approximation theory, complex analysis, number theory, orthogonal polynomials, probability theory, or mathematical discovery and learning.

This year’s recipients:
Craig A. Tracy, University of California, Davis
Harold Widom, University of California, Santa Cruz

©2001 Society for Industrial & Applied Mathematics
Designed by Donaghy's Web Consulting
Last Updated: 6/21/02