U.S. National Academies Elect New Members

June 10, 2005

The SIAM community is well represented among the new members elected this year to the National Academies of Sciences and Engineering. SIAM congratulates all on this important recognition of their outstanding work.

National Academy of Engineering

Ivo M. Babuska, University of Texas, Austin: "For contributions to the theory and implementation of finite element methods for computer-based engineering analysis and design."

Marsha J. Berger, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University: "For developing adaptive mesh refinement algorithms and software that have advanced engineering applications, especially the analysis of aircraft and spacecraft."

Dimitris J. Bertsimas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology: "For contributions to optimization theory and stochastic systems and innovative applications in financial engineering and transportation."

A. Robert Calderbank, Princeton University: "For leadership in communications research, from advances in algebraic coding theory to signal processing for wire-line and wireless modems."

Shafrira Goldwasser, Massachusetts Institute of Technology: "For contributions to cryptography, number theory, and complexity theory, and their applications to privacy and security."

William M. Kahan of the University of California, Berkeley, was elected a foreign associate of NAE, which cited his "techniques for reliable floating point computation, especially the IEEE Floating Point Standards."

National Academy of Sciences

Stanley Osher, University of California, Los Angeles: Readers of SIAM News will know of Osher's work on shock-capturing schemes and level set methods, with recent applications to image processing, especially the enhancement of video images and movie animation. A professor of mathematics at UCLA since 1976, he is currently also director of special projects at IPAM (UCLA's Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics).

Margaret Wright, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University: Wright, who works in optimization, linear algebra, and scientific computing, joined the NYU faculty in 2002 as chair of the Department of Computer Science; she was previously at Bell Laboratories, where she was named head of the Scientific Computing Research Department in 1997. A former president of SIAM (199596), she has shared her enthusiasm for optimization, including barrier and direct search methods, in many special invited lectures to SIAM audiences.

Elected a foreign associate of the NAS was Adi Shamir of the Weizmann Institute of Science, who is well known for his groundbreaking work in cryptography.

Worthy of a final note are the three people in the group who are now members of both NAE and NAS: Marsha Berger (elected to NAS in 2000), Shafrira Goldwasser (NAS, 2004), and Margaret Wright, (NAE, 1997).

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+