SIAM Presents Awards and Prizes, Honors New Class of Fellows at 2010 Annual Meeting

September 15, 2010

The following recipients of SIAM awards and prizes were honored in Pittsburgh on July 13, during the 2010 SIAM Annual Meeting:

I.E. Block Community Lecture
. Dmitri Tymoczko, Princeton University; the lecture was titled "The Geometry of Music."

Julian Cole Lecture. John R. King, University of Nottingham, UK, with a lecture titled "Mathematical Modelling of Tissue Growth."

Richard C. DiPrima Prize. Colin B. Macdonald, Mathematical Institute, University of Oxford, UK, for his dissertation titled "The Closest Point Method for Time-Dependent Processes on Surfaces."

AWM–SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture. Suzanne Lenhart, University of Tennessee, Knoxville; the lecture was titled "Mixing It Up: Discrete and Continuous Optimal Control for Biological Models."

George Pólya Prize. Emmanuel Candès, Stanford University, and Terence Tao, UCLA.

W.T. and Idalia Reid Prize in Mathematics. John A. Burns, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, who gave a prize lecture, "William T. and Idalia Reid: His Mathematics and Her Mathematical Family."

SIAM Awards in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling
Problem A, The Continuous Problem: "The Sweet Spot"
Solution: "An Optimal Model of the ‘Sweet Spot' Effect"
Students: Zhe Xiong, Qipei Mei, and Fei Han
Faculty Adviser: Liang Gao
HUST–Huazhong University of Science and Technology, PRC.

Problem B, The Discrete Problem: "Criminology"
Solution: "Following the Trail of Data"
Students: Joseph H. Gibney, Emily P. Meissen, and Yonatan Naamad
Faculty Adviser: Peter Kramer
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Student Paper Prizes

Bubacarr Bah (Co-Author, Jared Tanner), University of Edinburgh, UK, for "Improved Restricted Isometry Constant Bounds for Gaussian Matrices," submitted for publication in SIAM Journal on Matrix Analysis and Applications.

Russell Carden, Rice University, for "A Simple Algorithm for the Inverse Field of Values Problem," Inverse Problems, 25 (2009), 115019.

Karin Leiderman (Co-Author, Aaron L. Fogelson), University of Utah, for "Grow with the Flow: A Spatial-Temporal Model of Platelet Deposition and Coagulation under Flow," Mathematical Medicine and Biology, May 3, 2010, doi: 10.1093/imammb/dqq005.

SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession.
Martin Grötschel, Vice President, Konrad-Zuse-Zentrum für Informations-technik Berlin (ZIB), and Professor, Technische Universität Berlin, Institut für Mathematik, Germany.

The John von Neumann Lecture. Bernd Sturmfels, University of California, Berkeley; the lecture was titled "Algebra: From Linear to Non-Linear."

The members of the 2010 Class of SIAM Fellows are:
Uri M. Ascher, University of British Columbia
Andrea L. Bertozzi, University of California Los Angeles
Susanne C. Brenner, Louisiana State University
John C. Butcher, University of Auckland
Stephen L. Campbell, North Carolina State University
Carlos Castillo-Chavez, Arizona State University
Tony F. Chan, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Peter Constantin, University of Chicago
John E. Dennis, Jr., Rice University, Retired, and University of Washington
Iain S. Duff, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK, and CERFACS, France
Paul G. Dupuis, Brown University
Bjorn E. Engquist, University of Texas, Austin
Donald Geman, Johns Hopkins University
John R. Gilbert, University of California Santa Barbara
Michael T. Heath, University of Illinois
T.C. Hu, University of California San Diego
George Karniadakis, Brown University
William L. Kath, Northwestern University
Ioannis G. Kevrekidis, Princeton University
Barbara Lee Keyfitz, Ohio State University
Randall J. LeVeque, University of Washington
Anders G. Lindquist, KTH---Royal Institute of Technology
Steve McCormick, University of Colorado Boulder
Carl D. Meyer, North Carolina State University
Jorge Nocedal, Northwestern University
Yousef Saad, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Fadil Santosa, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Robert Schreiber, Hewlett-Packard
Mitchell D. Smooke, Yale University
Danny C. Sorensen, Rice University
Gunther Uhlmann, University of Washington
Frederic Y.M. Wan, University of California Irvine
Michael I. Weinstein, Columbia University
Olof B. Widlund, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University.

Two fellows were added to the 2009 class after the initial announcement:
Robert B. Schnabel, Indiana University
Suresh P. Sethi, University of Texas, Dallas.

Newly named fellows gathered at the prize luncheon in Pittsburgh. Seated, left to right: Fred Wan, Suresh Sethi, Andrea Bertozzi, and Barbara Keyfitz. Standing, left to right: Carlos Castillo-Chavez, Mitchell Smooke, Carl Meyer, Michael Weinstein, Steve Campbell, Bill Kath, Uri Ascher, Michael Heath, Anders Lindquist, Randy LeVeque, Susanne Brenner, John Gilbert, Rob Schreiber, Peter Constantin, Gunther Uhlmann, Jorge Nocedal, and Danny Sorensen.

The recipients of the 2010 SIAM Student Paper Prizes, left to right, at the prize luncheon in Pittsburgh: Russell Carden (Rice University), Karin Leiderman (University of Utah), and Bubacarr Bah (University of Edinburgh, UK). The student paper prizes are given annually to recognize outstanding scholarship by students in applied mathematics or computing.

Colin Macdonald of the Mathematical Institute at the University of Oxford, UK, received the 2010 Richard C. DiPrima Prize, for research that contributed "new insights for computing numerical solutions to PDEs on general curved surfaces."

Tim Lewis of the University of California, Davis, and Jonathan E. Rubin of the University of Pittsburgh, co-chairs of the organizing committee for the 2010 SIAM Conference on the Life Sciences, paused for a photo at the reception that followed the I.E. Block Community Lecture. The life sciences meeting was held jointly with the 2010 SIAM Annual Meeting.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+