ICIAM 2011: SIAM Recognizes Outstanding Work at Prize Session in Vancouver

November 15, 2011

Members of the SIAM Fellows Class of 2011 at the prize session in Vancouver, from left: Kendall Atkinson, David Keyes, John Betts, Thomas Grandine, Beresford Parlett, Jean-Pierre Fouque, Ilse Ipsen, Volker Mehrmann, Charbel Farhat, Ya-xiang Yuan, Alan Edelman, Kenneth Golden, Ahmed Sameh, Philip Holmes, James McKenna, and Charles Doering. Photo by VisionPhoto.ca.
The following recipients of SIAM prizes and awards were honored in Vancouver during ICIAM 2011:

Ingrid Daubechies, Duke University, gave the John von Neumann Lecture, titled "Sparsity in Signal Analysis and in Computation," at the congress.

Susanne Brenner, Louisiana State University, gave the AWM–SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture, titled "A Cautionary Tale in Numerical PDEs."

Björn Engquist, University of Texas, Austin, received the Peter Henrici Prize. He gave a lecture titled "Fast Algorithms for High Frequency Wave Propagation."

Gunther Uhlmann, University of California, Irvine, and University of Washington, received the Ralph E. Kleinman Prize.

Irena Lasiecka, University of Virginia, received the W.T. and Idalia Reid Prize. She gave a prize lecture titled "Analysis and Control of Coupled PDE Systems Arising in Fluid–Structure and Gas Flow–Structure Interactions" at the 2011 SIAM Conference on Control and its Applications, in Baltimore.

David Keyes, Columbia University and King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia, received the 2011 SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession.

SIAM Outstanding Paper Prizes

Justin Brickell, Google; Inderjit Dhillon, University of Texas, Austin; Suvrit Sra, Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics, Germany; and Joel Tropp, California Institute of Technology; "The Metric Nearness Problem," SIAM Journal on Matrix Analysis and Applications, 30:1 (2008), 375–396.

Constantinos Daskalakis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Paul Goldberg, University of Liverpool, UK; and Christos Papadimitriou, University of California, Berkeley; "The Complexity of Computing a Nash Equilibrium," SIAM Journal on Computing, 39:1 (2009), 195–259, Special Issue on the 38th Annual ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC 2006).

Iftach Haitner, Tel Aviv University, Israel; Minh-Huyen Nguyen, Shien Jin Ong, and Omer Reingold, Microsoft; and Salil Vadhan, Harvard University; "Statistically Hiding Commitments and Statistical Zero-Knowledge Arguments from Any One-Way Function," SIAM Journal on Computing, 39:3 (2009), 1153–1218, Special Section on the 39th Annual ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC 2007).

SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling

Problem A, The Continuous Problem: "Snowboard Course"
Enhao Gong, Rongsha Li, and Xiaoyun Wang; faculty adviser, Jimin Zhang; Tsinghua University, PRC; "The Half-Blood/Half-Pipe: A Perfect Performance."
Problem B, The Discrete Problem: "Repeater Coordination"
Daniel Furlong, Dylan Marriner, and Louis Ryan; faculty adviser, Susan Martonosi; Harvey Mudd College; "Clustering on a Network."

The 2011 recipients of the SIAM awards in the MCM have been invited to present their winning solutions at the 2012 SIAM Annual Meeting, in Minneapolis.

SIAM Student Paper Prizes

Necdet Serhat Aybat (co-author, Garud Iyengar), Columbia University; "Unified Approach for Minimizing Composite Norms," submitted for publication in Mathematical Programming Series A, MOS.

Sungwoo Park (co-author, Dianne O'Leary), University of Maryland, College Park; "Portfolio Selection Using Tikhonov Filtering to Estimate the Covariance Matrix," SIAM Journal on Financial Mathematics, 1 (2010), 932–961.

Xiangxiong Zhang (co-author, Chi-Wang Shu), Brown University; "On Maximum-Principle-Satisfying High Order Schemes for Scalar Conservation Laws," Journal of Computational Physics, 2:29 (2010), 3091–3120.

The 2011 recipients of the SIAM student paper prizes have been invited to present their winning papers at the 2012 SIAM Annual Meeting, in Minneapolis.

Authors of Papers Published in the SIGEST Section of SIAM Review in 2010

Antoni Buades, Universitat de les Illes Balears, Palma de Mallorca, Spain, and Université Paris Descartes, France; Bartomeu Coll, Universitat de les Illes Balears, Palma de Mallorca, Spain; and Jean-Michel Morel, Centre de Mathématiques et Leurs Applications, ENS–Cachan, France; "Image Denoising Methods. A New Nonlocal Principle," SIAM Review, 52:1 (2010), 113–147.

Ivo Babuška, University of Texas, Austin; Fabio Nobile, Politecnico di Milano, Italy; and Raúl Tempone, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia; "A Stochastic Collocation Method for Elliptic Partial Differential Equations with Random Input Data," SIAM Review, 52:2 (2010), 317–355.

Yves Lucet, University of British Columbia, Okanagan, Canada; "What Shape Is Your Conjugate? A Survey of Computational Con-vex Analysis and Its Applications," SIAM Review, 52:3 (2010), 505–542.

Takumi Washio, Jun-ichi Okada, and Toshiaki Hisada, University of Tokyo, Japan; "A Parallel Multilevel Technique for Solving the Bidomain Equation on a Human Heart with Purkinje Fibers and a Torso Model," SIAM Review, 52:4 (2010), 717–743.

The 2011 Class of SIAM Fellows:

Mark Ablowitz, University of Colorado, Boulder
Kendall Atkinson, University of Iowa
Claude Bardos, Laboratoire Jacques-Louis Lions, Université Pierre et Marie Curie
John Betts, The Boeing Company, Retired
Charles Doering, University of Michigan
Jim Douglas, Jr., University of Chicago and Purdue University, Retired
Alan Edelman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Charbel Farhat, Stanford University
Jean-Pierre Fouque, University of California, Santa Barbara
Alan Frieze, Carnegie Mellon University
Kenneth Golden, University of Utah
Thomas Grandine, The Boeing Company
William Gropp, University of Illinois, Urbana–Champaign
Philip Holmes, Princeton University
Ilse Ipsen, North Carolina State University
Christopher Jones, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
David Keyes, Columbia University and King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
Suzanne Lenhart, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
John Lewis, The Boeing Company and Cray, Retired
Zhi-Quan Luo, University of Minnesota
Olvi Mangasarian, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Retired, and University of California, San Diego
Bernard Matkowsky, Northwestern University
James McKenna, Bell Laboratories, Retired
Volker Mehrmann, Technische Universität Berlin
Boris Mordukhovich, Wayne State University
Bill Morton, University of Oxford Computing Laboratory, Retired
Ricardo Nochetto, University of Maryland, College Park
Beresford Parlett, University of California, Berkeley, Retired
Ahmed Sameh, Purdue University, West Lafayette
Robert Skeel, Purdue University, West Lafayette
Craig Tracy, University of California, Davis
Stephen Wright, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Jinchao Xu, Pennsylvania State University
Ya-xiang Yuan, Chinese Academy of Sciences.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+