Portland Snapshots

October 26, 2004

Deborah Lockhart of NSF's Division of Mathematical Sciences (center) with SIAM president-elect Martin Golubitsky and council member Lisa Fauci.

SIAM president Mac Hyman had the pleasure of presenting the 2004 George Pólya Prize to Paul Seymour of Princeton University (left) and Neil Robertson of Ohio State University (center). Given every other year, the prize recognizes outstanding accomplishments either in combinatorial theory (the case this year) or in other areas in which Pólya worked.
Robertson and Seymour were honored for "their magnificent proof of the Wagner Conjecture in the theory of graph minors. . . . A "true tour-de-force," the citation continues, the Robertson-Seymour proof provides "a structural characterization of finite graphs that has deep and far-reaching consequences."

John Dennis, co-chair of the organizing committee for the Portland meeting (right) admires the clock given to Michael Ray of ExxonMobil in appreciation for his I.E. Block Community Lecture, "Mathematical Challenges in the Upstream Energy Business." (Eluding the camera was Dennis's co-chair, John Bell of Lawrence Berkeley National Lab.)

Invited speaker Rob Almgren ("Optimal Portfolios from Sorts") of the University of Toronto (left) and David Levermore of the University of Maryland.

Board member Nick Trefethen, on the way back to Oxford University after a year in Australia, catches up with colleagues in Portland.

David Keyes of Columbia University, a member of the SIAM Board of Trustees.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+