Dynamical Systems in Snowbird: May 2003

July 31, 2003

Organizing committee co-chair Mary Pugh (co-chair Tasso Kaper managed to evade photographer Bernd Krauskopf throughout the meeting) confers with Charles Doering (left) and Yannis Kevrekidis, who received the 2003 J.D. Crawford Prize at the meeting. Kevrekidis, a professor of chemical engineering and a senior faculty member in the Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics at Princeton University, was cited "for his fundamental and innovative framework for multiscale computation in complex dynamical systems." The Crawford Prize recognizes recent outstanding work on a topic in dynamical systems and nonlinear science.

David Ruelle of the Institut des Hautes Etudes, in Bures-sur-Yvette, France, accepts the Jürgen Moser Prize from David McLaughlin, provost of New York University and chair of the SIAM Activity Group on Dynamical Systems, which sponsored the conference. SIAG/DS awards the Moser Prize for distinguished contributions to nonlinear science. Ruelle, a leading researcher in dynamical systems for more than 30 years, was cited for "his pioneering approach to understanding fluid turbulence, his work on physically relevant invariant measures, his use of delay coordinate embeddings to analyze experimental data, and his work on nonequilibrium statistical mechanics"---contributions that have been "at the forefront of applications of dynamical systems theory to understanding physical phenomena."

The dynamical systems community knows how to appreciate a good poster! Jim Yorke (far right) is the donor of the red socks proudly displayed by the recipients of this year's best-poster awards: from left, John Burke of Arizona State University, Rodica Curtu of the University of Pittsburgh (whose work was done with G. Bard Ermentrout), Thilo Gross of Carl von Ossietzky Universität (with Ulrike Feudel, University of Oldenburg), Takashi Nishikawa of Arizona State University (with Frank C. Hoppensteadt and Ying-Cheng Lai), and Claire Postlethwaite of the University of Cambridge. Complementing the red socks, a tradition begun in 2001, was a $100 award to each presenter (contributed by Yorke and the organizing committee). Look for more about the meeting in upcoming issues of SIAM News.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+