Peter Lax to Receive 2005 Abel Prize

April 4, 2005

Peter Lax

Gilbert Strang

King Harald of Norway will present the 2005 Abel Prize in Mathematics to Peter Lax on May 24. The annual prize, awarded this year for the third time, was created by the Norwegian Parliament to honor Niels Henrik Abel. Lax is responsible for the Lax Equivalence Theorem which established that stability is necessary and sufficient for the convergence of a consistent finite difference method.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+