Manteuffel Elected SIAM President for 2001-02

January 14, 2000

SIAM president-elect Thomas Manteuffel.
As of January 1, SIAM has several new officers. Heading the list is president-elect Thomas Manteuffel, a professor of applied mathematics at the University of Colorado, Boulder; his two-year term as SIAM president will begin in January 2001. Gilbert Strang of MIT is the current president (his column appears on page 2 in this issue).

Succeeding Manteuffel as vice president at large, a position he held from 1996 to 1999, is Linda Petzold of the department of mechanical and environmental engineering at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Beginning a second term as SIAM secretary is Gregory Shubin of The Boeing Company.

SIAM members registered their satisfaction with the Board of Trustees and Council in the fall elections by returning to office all of the incumbents who ran for re-election. Continuing on the board are H.T. Banks of North Carolina State University (who also received a vote of confidence from the board at its December meeting when he was asked to continue on as chair of the group); Rosemary Chang of Sunol, California; and Michael Overton of the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences.

The council begins 2000 with one first-time member, David Keyes of Old Dominion University. Re-elected to the council this fall were John R. Gilbert (Xerox Palo Alto Research Center); Robert V. Kohn (Courant); and Virginia Torczon (College of William & Mary).

Bringing new ideas to the council will be David Keyes, shown here giving an invited talk ("Krylov, Lagrange, Newton, and Schwarz: Combinations and Permutations") in Atlanta last year at a combined session of SIAM's annual meeting and optimization conference.

Continuing members of the council are Paul T. Boggs (Sandia National Laboratories); Kathryn Eleda Brenan (The Aerospace Corporation); Eric H. Grosse (Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies); Nicholas J. Higham (University of Manchester); Suzanne Lenhart (University of Tennessee); John G. Lewis (Boeing); James A. Sethian (University of California, Berkeley); and Lloyd N. Trefethen (University of Oxford).

Also serving as members of the council (ex officio) are Manteuffel, Banks, and the four SIAM vice presidents who are appointed by the president. Currently holding those positions are Barbara Keyfitz of the University of Houston (vice president for programs), James M. Hyman of Los Alamos National Laboratory (vice president for publications), Claude Greengard of IBM (vice president for industry), and Terry Herdman of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (vice president for education). Serving as ex officio members of both the council and the board are SIAM president Gilbert Strang and SIAM treasurer Samuel Gubins of Annual Reviews, Inc.

Along with those already mentioned, the members of the board are Peter E. Castro (Eastman Kodak Company); Margaret Cheney (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute); Christopher K.R.T. Jones (Brown University); Joyce R. McLaughlin (RPI); Cleve Moler (The MathWorks); Robert J. Plemmons (Wake Forest University); Francis Sullivan (Institute for Defense Analyses); and Margaret H. Wright (Bell Labs).

Shmuel Winograd of the IBM T.J. Watson Research Center leaves the SIAM Board of Trustees after three terms as one of the two members elected by the board itself. "When Shmuel talks," says SIAM executive director James Crowley, "everyone listens." In his years on the board, he was "usually right on the mark" with his comments in widely ranging areas, from investment strategies to politics in Washington. Following the tradition of electing people from industry to these positions, the board has chosen former SIAM president Margaret Wright of Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies to succeed Winograd.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+