SIAM Board and Council Members for 1999

January 22, 1999

H.T. Banks was recently elected to a one-year term as chair of the SIAM Board of Trustees.
In November 1998, the SIAM membership elected the following members to three-year terms on the board and council; the terms began January 1, 1999.

Peter Castro (Eastman Kodak Company) was elected to the SIAM Board of Trustees; Margaret Cheney (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute) and Cleve Moler (The MathWorks) were re-elected to the board. Continuing board members are H.T. Banks (North Carolina State University), who was elected board chair at the group's December meeting; Rosemary Chang (Silicon Graphics), Christopher Jones (Brown University), Joyce McLaughlin (RPI), Michael Overton (Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences), Robert Plemmons (Wake Forest University), Francis Sullivan (Institute for Defense Analyses), and Shmuel Winograd (IBM). SIAM treasurer Samuel Gubins (Annual Reviews, Inc.) and SIAM president Gilbert Strang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) are ex officio members of the board.

Re-elected to the council for second terms are Kathryn Brenan (The Aerospace Corporation), Eric Grosse (Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies), Nicholas Higham (University of Manchester), and Lloyd Trefethen (Oxford University). Other members of the council are Paul Boggs (Sandia National Laboratories), John Gilbert (Xerox Palo Alto Research Center), Robert Kohn (Courant), Suzanne Lenhart (University of Tennessee), John Lewis (The Boeing Company), Robert Schnabel (University of Colorado, Boulder), James Sethian (University of California, Berkeley), and Virginia Torczon (College of William & Mary). Ex officio members of the council are Banks, Gubins, Strang, SIAM past-president John Guckenheimer (Cornell University), vice president for education Terry Herdman (Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University), vice president for programs Barbara Keyfitz (University of Houston), vice president-at-large Thomas Manteuffel (Boulder), SIAM secretary Gregory Shubin (Boeing, Applied Research and Technology), James M. Hyman (Los Alamos National Laboratory), who was recently appointed vice president for publications, and Claude Greengard (IBM), who begins a term as SIAM's first vice president for industry.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+