Gilbert Strang Is SIAM President-Elect

January 8, 1998

SIAM president-elect Gilbert Strang, shown here (first row, middle) during a recent visit to Hebei University in Baoding, China, looks forward to helping make SIAM "even more than now, a truly international society." Strang, a professor of mathematics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will spend this year as president-elect, succeeding John Guckenheimer as president on January 1, 1999.

Other SIAM officers elected this fall are Thomas Manteuffel of the University of Colorado, Boulder, who begins a second term as vice president-at-large on January 1, and Gregory Shubin of Boeing Information and Support Services, who succeeds Peter Castro as secretary.

Newly elected members of the SIAM Board of Trustees are Christopher Jones (Brown University) and Robert Plemmons(Wake Forest University). Joyce McLaughlin (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute), re-elected to the board, was also elected to a second term as board chair at the board's December meeting.

Other members of the board are H.T. Banks (North Carolina State University), Rosemary Chang (Silicon Graphics), Margaret Cheney (RPI), James M. Hyman (Los Alamos National Laboratory), Cleve Moler (The Math-Works), Michael Overton (Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences), Francis Sullivan (Institute for Defense Analyses), and Shmuel Winograd (IBM). SIAM treasurer Samuel Gubins (Annual Reviews, Inc.) and John Guckenheimer are ex officio members of the board.

Newly elected members of the SIAM Council are John Lewis (The Boeing Company) and James Sethian (University of California, Berkeley). Paul Boggs (Sandia National Laboratories) and Suzanne Lenhart (University of Tennessee) were re-elected to the council.

Other members of the council are Kathryn Brennan (Aerospace Corporation), John Gilbert (Xerox Palo Alto Research Center), Eric Grosse (Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies), Nicholas Higham (University of Manchester), Robert Kohn (Courant), Robert Schnabel (University of Colorado, Boulder), Virginia Torczon (College of William & Mary), and Lloyd N. Trefethen (Oxford University). Ex officio members of the council are Gubins, Guckenheimer, Manteuffel, McLaughlin, Shubin, Strang, newly appointed vice president for programs Barbara Keyfitz (University of Houston), vice president for education Terry Herdman (Virginia Polytechnic & State University), and vice president for publications Linda Petzold (University of California, Santa Barbara).

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+