Call for Nominations

2012 Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization

The Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization, established in 2002, is awarded jointly by MOS and SIAM.  It is awarded for outstanding works in the area of continuous optimization.  Judging of works will be based primarily on their mathematical quality, significance, and originality.  Clarity and excellence of the exposition and the value of the work in practical applications may be considered as secondary attributes.


Works to be considered should form the final publication of the main result(s) and should be published either (a) as an article in a recognized journal, or in a comparable, well-referenced volume intended to publish final publications only; or (b) as a monograph consisting chiefly of original results rather than previously published material.  Extended abstracts and prepublications, and articles in published journals, journal sections or proceedings that are intended to publish non-final papers, are not eligible.

Works must bear a publication date within the six calendar years prior to the year of the award, that is, for the 2012 award, the calendar years 2006-2011. 

Description of the Award

The award will include a certificate containing the citation and a cash prize of $1,500.  In the event of joint authorship, the prize will be divided.


Nominations should include a letter evaluating the contribution(s) of the work and citing the works to be considered.  Nominations should be sent to the address below, preferably via e-mail, so as to arrive by March 1, 2012.

Professor Tamas Terlaky
Chair, Lagrange Prize Selection Committee
c/o J. M. Littleton
3600 Market Street, 6th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19104-2688

Telephone: +1-215-382-9800 ext. 303
Fax: +1-215-386-7999

Selection Committee

Members of the selection committee are:
Tamas Terlaky (Chair), Lehigh University
Kurt Anstreicher, University of Iowa
Donald Goldfarb, Columbia University
Thomas Liebling, EPFL, Switzerland

Renew SIAM · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube