SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling

Principal Guideline

The SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM), established in 1988, is awarded to two of the teams judged "Outstanding" in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM), administered annually by the Consortium for Mathematics and Its Applications (COMAP). One winning team is chosen for each of the two problems (continuous and discrete) posed in the MCM.

Prize Committee

The prize committee will be appointed by the SIAM Vice President for Education. The members of the prize committee must be SIAM members.

Selection Procedures

The eligible candidates each year include all teams competing in the MCM that are judged as "Outstanding" (the highest possible ranking) by the official contest judges.

The prize committee will notify the SIAM President through the vice president for education of its nominations within a few days after the completion of the grading of the MCM (usually in March). However, the committee is free, in unusual circumstances, to recommend that no award be made. The president will accept or reject the nominations within one month of receipt. If the nominations are accepted, the award presentation will be made according to the procedure below. If the nominations are rejected, the president and the chair of the prize committee will either select the award-winning teams or decide to make no award.


The vice president for education will notify the team members and their faculty adviser of the award within two weeks after the nominations are accepted by the president. Notification will include an invitation to attend the award ceremony.

Description of the Award

Student Team Members
Each student member of the winning team will receive a cash award of $500 and three one-year student memberships in SIAM. Team members’ travel expenses will be reimbursed by SIAM up to $650 for domestic travel or $800 for international travel. A one-year student membership in SIAM will be given to each member of non-winning teams judged as "Outstanding" by the official contest judges.

Faculty Adviser
A suitable certificate for the home institutions will be given to the faculty advisers of the winning teams.

Award Presentation

At the SIAM Annual Meeting following acceptance of the nominated winners, the cash awards and certificate will be presented to those recipients who attend the ceremony, and the winning students will be invited to present their papers at a minisymposium concerning the MCM. The awards and certificate will be mailed after the ceremony to any recipient not attending.

Prize History

Previous recipients of the SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling:

The next award will be made in 2017.

Renew SIAM · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+