Crawford Prize Open for Nominations

August 18, 2006


SIAM Activity Group on Dynamical Systems J. D. Crawford Prize

The SIAG/DS Crawford Prize

The SIAM Activity Group on Dynamical Systems will present the J. D. Crawford Prize at the SIAM Conference on Applications of Dynamical Systems to be held at Snowbird, May 28 - June 1, 2007.

The Crawford Prize is awarded every two years for recent outstanding work on a topic in dynamical systems and nonlinear science, as evidenced by a publication in English in a peer-reviewed journal within the four calendar years preceding the award date. The term "nonlinear science" is used in the spirit of the SIAG/DS meetings; specifically it includes dynamical systems theory and its applications as well as experiments and computations/simulations.


The research of the candidate must contain significant contributions to the field of nonlinear science, as evidenced by a publication in English in a peer-reviewed journal bearing an electronic publication date within the award period, that is, within the calendar years 2003-2006.

Description of the Award

The award will consist of a plaque, a certificate containing the citation, and a cash award of $750. SIAM will reimburse the recipient's travel expenses to attend the conference and receive the award.


Nominations, including a C.V., should be sent by October 15, 2006, to:

Dr. Tasso Kaper

Chair, J. D. Crawford Prize Selection Committee c/o J. M. Littleton SIAM 3600 University City Science Center

Philadelphia, PA 19104-2688



Phone: +1-215-382-9800 ext. 303

Fax: +1-215-386-7999

Selection Committee

Members of the selection committee are: Tasso Kaper (Chair), Boston University; Dwight Barkley, University of Warwick, UK; Andrea Bertozzi, UCLA; Edgar Knobloch, University of Leeds, UK; Mary Silber, Northwestern University.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+