Class of 2014

Mark Ainsworth | Brown University

For contributions to numerical analysis and scientific computing including finite element methods, adaptive methods, reliability, and a posteriori error estimation.

John S. Baras | University of Maryland, College Park

For contributions to systems theory, stochastic control, and communication networks.

Lorenz T. Biegler | Carnegie Mellon University

For contributions in large-scale nonlinear optimization theory and algorithms, particularly IPOPT, and their novel application to flowsheet optimization, process control, data reconciliation, and complex process applications.

Ake Bjorck | Linkoping University, Emeritus

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, especially numerical methods for least squares problems.

Alfred M. Bruckstein | Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

For contributions to signal processing, image analysis, and ant robotics.

Suncica Canic | University of Houston

For contributions to the modeling and analysis of partial differential equations motivated by applications in the life sciences.

Inderjit S. Dhillon | The University of Texas at Austin

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, data analysis, and machine learning.

Vladimir L. Druskin | Schlumberger-Doll Research

For contributions to inverse problems, scientific computing, and numerical analysis and their application to hydrocarbon exploration.

Leah Edelstein-Keshet | University of British Columbia

For contributions to the mathematics and modeling of the cell, the immune system, and biological swarms, as well as to applied mathematics education.

Donald Estep | Colorado State University

For contributions to computational science and engineering, industrial collaborations, and mathematical exposition.

Bengt Fornberg | University of Colorado Boulder

For advances in spectral methods, radial basis functions, and other methods for computational fluid dynamics and partial differential equations.

Omar Ghattas | The University of Texas at Austin

For contributions to optimization of systems governed by partial differential equations and leadership to promote computational science and engineering.

Philip E. Gill | University of California, San Diego

For contributions to numerical optimization, linear algebra, and software.

Solomon W. Golomb | University of Southern California

For contributions to coding theory, data encryption, communications, and mathematical games.

Jan S. Hesthaven | Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne

For advances in high-order numerical methods for partial differential equations and applications.

Dorit S. Hochbaum | University of California, Berkeley

For contributions to the design and analysis of approximation algorithms, flow problems, and their innovative use in applications, and in solving NP-hard problems.

Masakazu Kojima | Tokyo Institute of Technology and JST CREST

For contributions to semidefinite optimization and complementarity problems.

Jeffrey C. Lagarias | University of Michigan

For contributions to the theory of wavelets and harmonic analysis, and to interior-point and direct search optimization.

Jean B. Lasserre | Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and Institute of Mathematics, University of Toulouse

For contributions to global polynomial optimization and the generalized problem of moments.

Tai-Ping Liu | Academia Sinica

For advances in the theory of shock waves and kinetic theory.

Mitchell B. Luskin | University of Minnesota

For contributions to multiscale numerical methods for materials with microstructure and defects and atomistic to continuum models.

Nancy K. Nichols | University of Reading

For contributions to the numerical analysis of systems, control, and data assimilation.

Peter J. Olver | University of Minnesota

For developing new geometric methods for differential equations leading to applications in fluid mechanics, elasticity, quantum mechanics, and image processing.

Yuriko Yamamuro Renardy | Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

For contributions to the fluid dynamics of interfacial instabilities through the mathematical and numerical analysis of viscous, viscoelastic, and thermal effects.

L. Ridgway Scott | University of Chicago

For contributions to finite element methods and scientific computing.

Mikhail Shashkov | Los Alamos National Laboratory, X-Computational Physics Division

For contributions to the development of mimetic finite difference methods for nonlinear systems of partial differential equations.

Christine A. Shoemaker | Cornell University

For the development of optimization algorithms for groundwater flow and related environmental problems.

Valeria Simoncini | Universita di Bologna

For contributions to numerical linear algebra.

Zdenek Strakos | Charles University in Prague

For advances in numerical linear algebra, especially iterative methods.

Bernd Sturmfels | University of California, Berkeley

For advancing symbolic and numerical techniques for solving systems of nonlinear polynomial equations and inequalities and connecting computational algebraic geometry with applications.

Jorge X. Velasco-Hernandez | Instituto de Matematicas UNAM

For advances in mathematical epidemiology of infectious diseases and in mathematics applied in industry problems.

Michael S. Vogelius | Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

For contributions to the mathematical and numerical analysis of nonlinear problems of PDEs and applications in inverse problems, homogenization, and material science.