Education Committee


Name Email
Term Ending
Michael Bader bader@in.tum.de
David Balaban dbalaban@amgen.com
Ron Buckmire ron@oxy.edu
Kathleen Fowler kfowler@clarkson.edu
Sigal Gottlieb sgottlieb@umassd.edu
Aloysius Helminck loek@math.ncsu.edu
Eric Kostelich kostelich@asu.edu
Byong Kwon bkwon1@masonlive.gmu.edu
Suzanne Lenhart lenhart@math.utk.edu
Rachel Levy (chair) levy@hmc.edu
Lois Curfman McInnes Curfman@mcs.anl.gov
Mason Porter porterm@maths.ox.ac.uk
Jeff Humpherys jeffh@math.byu.edu
Katherine Socha ksocha@parkschool.net
Jean-Luc Thiffeault jeanluc@mailaps.org
Suzanne Weekes sweekes@wpi.edu


Committee Charge

Roles and Responsibilities

The Education Committee has responsibility for supporting the Vice President for Education in SIAM activities related to education, both graduate and undergraduate. These activities include recommendations on education policy and curricula in areas relevant to SIAM; carrying out programs to promote applied mathematics and computational science; and providing advice on general policy issues in education in the mathematical sciences.

Policy recommendations require approval of the SIAM Council and must go through the SIAM Vice President for Education.

In carrying out its roles and responsibilities, this committee oversees several ongoing programs. These include:

Other activities may include:

Structure of the Education Committee

The SIAM Vice President for Education shall chair the Education Committee. The number of appointments to this committee is not fixed, but that number should be justified by the ongoing activities of the committee. The Chair of the Committee shall recommend appointments to this committee to the Committee on Committees and Appointments which oversees the appointment process on behalf of the SIAM President. The length of each term shall be three years. Terms should staggered so that approximately one-third of the terms end each year. Individuals serve additional terms subject to SIAM policies on term limits.  SIAM recommends that appointed committee members serve at most two consecutive terms, although exceptions can be made in special circumstances.

The VP for Education may create subcommittees to carry out the programs of this committee. Subcommittees are ordinarily formed from a subset of members of the Education Committee. In the case that a subcommittee requires special expertise or abilities not found on the Education Committee, subcommittee appointments should go through the Committee on Committees and Appointments process for committee appointments.

The SIAM President, in consultation with the SIAM Secretary, shall make the at-large appointments to this committee. Committee membership should reflect the breadth and diversity of the Society. Committee members should have broad knowledge of the Society and its members.

How the Committee Conducts its Business

The Education Committee traditionally meets twice per year. It holds one meeting during the January Joint Math Meetings; and one meeting during the SIAM Annual Meeting. The VP for Education chairs these meetings, but may appoint a designee to chair in his/her absence. Any business that must be transacted between these two meetings is ordinarily done via e-mail.

The VP for Education reports to the Council and Board twice a year on the activities of this committee.

Professional Development Working Group

The Professional Development Working Group is appointed by the chair of the Education Committee to organize the Professional Development Evening at the SIAM Annual Meeting.  The working group will consist of three (3) members, with three (3) year terms; the second-year member chairs the committee.  Members of the working group do not need to be members of the Education Committee.

Sven Leyffer January 1, 2015 - December 31, 2017
Cammey Cole Manning January 1. 2014 - December 31, 2016
Maria Emelianenko, Chair* January 1, 2013 - December 31, 2015

*Temporary adjustment to appointment of the Chair for 2014 and 2015


Renew SIAM · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+