AN21 Special Events | SIAM

Special Events


Special Events

Featured Minisymposia

Prizes and Awards

Prizes and Awards recognition is being planned during the 2021 Annual Meeting. See the AN21 Prize Booklet for more information.

AWM-SIAM Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture
Vivette Girault, Sorbonne Université, CNRS, France

George B. Dantzig Prize
Hedy Attouch, University of Montpellier, France
Michel Goemans, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.

George Pólya Prize for Mathematical Exposition
Nicholas J. Higham, University of Manchester, United Kingdom

George Pólya Prize in Applied Combinatorics
Assefaw H. Gebremedhin, Washington State University, U.S.
Fredrik Manne, University of Bergen, Norway
Alex Pothen, Purdue University, U.S.

I. E. Block Community Lecture
Jonathan C. Mattingly, Duke University, U.S.

The John von Neumann Prize
Chi-Wang Shu, Brown University, U.S.

Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization
Leon Bottou, Facebook, U.S.
Frank E. Curtis, Lehigh University, U.S.
Jorge Nocedal, Northwestern University, U.S.

Ralph E. Kleinman Prize
Thomas J.R. Hughes, University of Texas at Austin, U.S.

SIAM Prize for Distinguished Service to the Profession
Deborah Lockhart, National Science Foundation, U.S.

SIAM Student Paper Prize
Yingjie Bi, University of California, Berkeley, U.S.
Michelle Feng, California Institute of Technology, U.S.
Yuanzhao Zhang, Northwestern University, U.S.

W. T. and Idalia Reid Prize
Karl Kunisch, University of Graz and Radon Institute, Austrian Academy of Science, Austria

SIAM Fellows Classes of 2020 and 2021 will be recognized.


SIAM Activity Group on Control and Systems Theory Best SICON Paper Prize Lectures
Prize Lecture #1
Lukas Hertlein, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Michael Ulbrich, Technical University of Munich, Germany
Prize Lecture #2
Bahman Gharesifard, Queen’s University, Canada
Abdol-Reza Mansouri, Queen’s University. Canada
Drew Steeves, University of California, San Diego, U.S.

SIAM Activity Group on Control and Systems Theory Prize Lecture
Giulia Giordano, University of Trento, Italy


Dénes König Prize Lecture
Matthew Kwan, Stanford University, U.S.

SIAG/OP Prizes

SIAM Activity Group on Optimization Best Paper Prize
Hamza Fawzi, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Pablo A. Parrilo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, U.S.
James Saunderson, Monash University, Australia

SIAM Activity Group on Optimization Early Career Prize
John C. Duchi, Stanford University, U.S.