Featured News and Announcements

Applications are Open for the SIAM Science Policy Fellowship Program
Apply to be a MGB-SIAM Early Career Fellow
Vote in the 2023 SIAM General Election

Major Prizes & Lectures

SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling and Interdisciplinary Contest in Modeling

The prize recognizes students for outstanding solutions to real world math problems. It is awarded to six of the teams judged "Outstanding" in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM) administered annually by the Consortium for Mathematics and Its Applications (COMAP). Registration is accepted via the COMAP website.

Prize Description

Prize Description

The prize is awarded to six of the teams judged "Outstanding" in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM) administered annually by the Consortium for Mathematics and Its Applications (COMAP). One team working on each of Problems A, B, C, D, E, and F. Each of these six teams is designated the SIAM winner for that problem.

Eligibility Criteria

Any team earning the “Outstanding” ranking from the COMAP MCM/ICM judges for a solution to Problems A, B, C, D, E, and F are eligible for the prize. The contest is run for five days, (Thursday through Monday) over a weekend in late January or early February. Registration is accepted via the COMAP website from September 15 to the day the contest starts. Contest results are posted in April.

Required Materials

  • Registration for COMAP MCM/ICM Problem A, B, C, D, E, or F
  • Submission of a solution in the contest
  • Ranking of "Outstanding" in the contest judging

Winner Announcement

Congratulations to the six winning 2023 teams: Beijing Institute of Technology, Duke University, East China Normal University, National University of Defense Technology, Tianjin University, and Soochow University!

Prize Details

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations

View All

Selection Committee

About the Award

About the SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling and Interdisciplinary Contest in Modeling

Each student member of the six teams designated as “SIAM winners” will receive a complimentary one-year student membership in SIAM. The team's faculty adviser will receive a certificate recognizing the team members.

Award Date

The SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling will next be awarded in 2024.

Award Presentation

There is no presentation associated with this prize. The announcement of the award will appear in SIAM News, the SIAM website, and appropriate electronic media.

Prize History

Prize History


  • Beijing Institute of Technology (Problem A)
  • Duke University (Problem B)
  • East China Normal University (Problem C)
  • National University of Defense Technology (Problem D)
  • Tianjin University (Problem E)
  • Soochow University (Problem F)


  • Zhejiang University
  • Hohai University
  • Shanghai Tech University
  • Nanjing Tech University
  • Hainan University
  • Renmin University of China


  • Shanghai Jiao Tong University
  • Nanjing University of Posts & Telecommunications
  • University of Colorado Boulder 
  • College of William & Mary
  • Nanjing Agricultural University
  • Renmin University


  • NC School of Science and Mathematics
  • North University of China


  • Central South University, China
  • China Jiliang University


  • University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Peking University


  • Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications
  • North Carolina State University


  • Southwest Jiaotong University
  • Wuhan University


  • Chongqing University
  • University of Colorado, Boulder

2014 Zhejiang University
2014 Southwest University of Nationalities
2013 University of Colorado, Boulder
2013 Tsinghua University
2012 Zhejiang University
2012 University of Louisville
2011 Tsinghua University
2011 Harvey Mudd College
2010 Huazhong University of Science and Technology
2010 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
2009 Harvard University
2009 Southwestern University
2008 State University of New York, Buffalo
2008 Harvard University
2007 Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2007 University of Stellenbosch
2006 University of Colorado, Boulder
2006 Harvard University
2005 Harvey Mudd College
2005 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
2004 Harvey Mudd College
2004 University of Colorado, Boulder
2003 California Institute of Technology
2003 University of Colorado, Boulder
2002 University of Washington
2002 Duke University
2001 U.S. Military Academy
2001 Wake Forest University
2000 U.S. Military Academy
2000 Wake Forest University
1999 Harvey Mudd College (two teams)
1999 Earlham College
1998 Macalester College
1998 Harvey Mudd College
1997 Washington University, St. Louis
1997 University of Toronto
1996 Pomona College
1996 St. Bonaventure University
1995 Iowa State University
1995 University of Alaska, Fairbanks
1994 North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics
1994 University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
1993 University of Alaska, Fairbanks
1993 University of California, Berkeley
1992 Oklahoma State University
1992 Pomona College
1991 University of Alaska, Fairbanks
1991 University of Western, Ontario
1990 California Polytechnic State University
1990 Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
1989 California Institute of Technology
1989 Harvey Mudd College
1988 Harvard University


Contact Prize Program