Call for Nomination

2012 George David Birkhoff Prize

The George David Birkhoff Prize, established in 1967, is awarded every three years jointly by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) and the American Mathematical Society (AMS).  The prize is awarded for an outstanding contribution to applied mathematics in the highest and broadest sense.

The prize will be awarded at the Joint Mathematics Meetings in Boston, Massachusetts, in January 2012.  Information about this prize may be found at


Nominations should include a short description of the work that is the basis of the nomination, with complete bibliographic citations when appropriate.  A brief curriculum vitae should be included for the nominee.

Nominations should be sent to:

Dr. Robert J. Daverman
Secretary, American Mathematical Society
238 Ayres Hall
University of Tennessee
Knoxville, TN   37996-1320

Deadline for nominations is June 30, 2011.

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+