Featured News and Announcements

Applications are Open for the SIAM Science Policy Fellowship Program
Apply to be a MGB-SIAM Early Career Fellow
Vote in the 2023 SIAM General Election

Activity Groups

SIAM Activity Group on Control and Systems Theory

This activity group fosters collaboration and interaction among mathematicians, engineers, and other scientists in those areas of research related to the theory of systems and their control. It seeks to promote the development of theory and methods related to modeling, control, estimation, and approximation of complex biological, physical, and engineering systems.

Join SIAM   SIAM Engage Online Community

Related Activities

Group Activities

About the Activity Group

Related topics and applications:

control of partial differential equations, computational mathematics for control and optimization, real-time optimization and data assimilation, cooperative control for unmanned autonomous vehicles, dynamic games, cellular and biological regulation, control of hybrid systems, control techniques for financial mathematics, analysis and control of biomedical systems, risk sensitive control and filtering, control of smart systems, flow control, quantum control, modeling, estimation, and approximation of complex biological, physical, and engineering systems

Related on SIAM News

Join the Activity Group
Join the Activity Group
SIAM Activity Groups provide a more focused forum for SIAM members interested in exploring one of the areas of applied mathematics, computational science, or applications. Get connected.
  • Executive Board
  • |
  • Steering Committee

By the Numbers

Activity Group Archives

Activity Group Archives


Chair: Francesco Bullo
Vice Chair: Wei Kang
Program Director: Sonia Martinez
Secretary: Eduardo Cerpa


Chair: Kirsten Morris
Vice Chair: Hélène Frankowska
Program Director: Richard Stockbridge
Secretary/Treasurer: Michael Demetriou


Chair: Fariba Fahroo
Vice Chair: Kirsten Morris
Program Director: Wei Kang
Secretary/Treasurer: Maurizio Falcone


Chair: George Yin
Vice Chair: Fariba Fahroo
Program Director: Bozenna Pasik-Duncan
Secretary/Treasurer: Maurizio Falcone


Chair: William McEneaneyn
Vice Chair: George Yin
Program Director: Fariba Fahroo
Secretary/Treasurer: Jorge Cortes


Chair: William Levine
Vice Chair: Peter Caines
Program Director: George Yin
Secretary/Treasurer: William McEneaney


Chair: Ralph Smith
Vice Chair: Fariba Fahroo
Program Director: William McEneaney
Secretary/Treasurer: Michael Demetriou


Chair: Arthur J. Krener
Vice Chair: Fariba Fahroo
Program Director: Ralph C. Smith
Secretary/Treasurer: Michael Demetriou
Hard Copy Newsletter Editor: William McEneaney


Chair: Tom Banks
Vice Chair: Steven I. Marcus
Program Director: Vincent Bloudel
Secretary/Treasurer: Naomi E. Leonard
Hard Copy Newsletter Editor: William McEneaney