Featured News and Announcements

Applications are Open for the SIAM Science Policy Fellowship Program
Apply to be a MGB-SIAM Early Career Fellow
Vote in the 2023 SIAM General Election

Activity Group Prizes

J. D. Crawford Prize

The prize was established in 2000 in memory of John David Crawford and his contributions to the physics of collisionless plasmas and pattern formation. It is awarded to one individual for recent work on a topic in nonlinear science, based on publication in peer-reviewed journals.

Next Call for Nominations Opens: May 1, 2024

Prize Description

Prize Description

The SIAM Activity Group on Dynamical Systems (SIAG/DS) awards the J. D. Crawford Prize every two years to one individual for recent outstanding work on a topic in nonlinear science, as evidenced by a publication in English in a peer-reviewed journal within the four calendar years preceding the award year.

The term “nonlinear science" is used in the spirit of the SIAG on Dynamical Systems conferences. Specifically, it includes dynamical systems theory and its applications as well as experiments, computations, and simulations.

Eligibility Criteria

The candidate’s research must contain significant contributions to the field of nonlinear science. One key paper must be cited as evidencing the contributions, though a body of papers may be discussed in the nomination. The qualifying key paper must have been published in English in a peer-reviewed journal published within the four calendar years preceding the award year.

For the 2025 award, the paper must have been published between the dates of January 1, 2021 - December 31, 2024.

Required Materials

  • Nominator’s letter of recommendation for candidate
  • Candidate’s CV
  • Bibliographic citation for candidate’s key contributing paper
  • Two or three letters of support from experts in the field

Winner Announcement

Congratulations to the 2023 recipient, Victoria Booth! Learn more about her accomplishments. 

~*Learn More*~

Prize Information

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations.

View All

Related Activity Group

Learn about the SIAM Activity Group on Dynamical Systems.

Read More

Selection Committee

About the Award

About the J. D. Crawford Prize

The J. D. Crawford Prize includes a $750 monetary prize and a certificate containing the citation. SIAM will reimburse the recipient for reasonable travel expenses incurred in attending the award ceremony.

Award Date

The prize will next be awarded at the 2023 SIAM Conference on Applications of Dynamical Systems.

Award Presentation

The Chair of the SIAM Activity Group on Dynamical Systems will announce and present the award to the recipient. An announcement of the award recipient will appear in the SIAM News and the activity group's newsletter.

Prize History

Prize History

Selection Committee

Tomas Gedeon (Chair)
Dwight Barkley
Jonathan Dawes
Diego del-Castillo Negrete
Niall Mangan

Selection Committee

Claire Postlethwaite (Chair)
Andrea Barreiro
Diego Del-castillo-Negrete
Mason Porter
Frits Veerman

Selection Committee

Evelyn Sander (Chair)
Barbara Gentz
Aric Hagberg
Martin Wechselberger

Selection Committee

Matthew Nicol (Chair)
Gianne Derks
Arjen Doelman
Aric Hagberg
Eric Shea-Brown

Selection Committee

Gianne Derks (Chair)
Carson Chow
Kresimir Josic
Jens Rademacher
Lennaert Van Veen

Selection Committee

Mary Silber (Chair)
Alejandro Aceves
Mariana Haragus
Milena Stanislavova
Jean-Luc Thiffeault
Martin Wechselberger
Kurt Wiesenfeld

Selection Committee

Rachel Kuske (Chair)
Konstantin Mischaikow
Mary C. Pugh
Alastair Rucklidge
Arnd Scheel

Selection Committee

Mary C. Pugh (Chair)
C. J. Budd
John Guckenheimer
Tasso Kaper
Andrew Stuart

Selection Committee

Tasso Kaper (Chair)
Peter Ashwin
Dwight Barkley
Andrea Bertozzi
Edgar Knobloch

2005 Dwight Barkley

Selection Committee

Edgar Knobloch (Chair)
Yannis Kevrekidis
Kenneth Showalter
Andrew Stuart
Marcelo Viana

2003 Yannís G. Kevrekidis

Selection Committee

M. Gregory Forest (Chair)
Mark Levi
Bjorn Sandstede
Mary Silber
Harry Swinney

2001 Björn Sandstede

Selection Committee

Christopher K. R. T. Jones (Chair)
James Keener
Edgar Knobloch
Robert McKay
Harry Swinney


Contact Prize Program