Featured News and Announcements

SIAM’s Response to the International Outbreak of Coronavirus (COVID-19)
SICON Call for Papers
Top SIAGA Articles

Activity Group Prizes

SIAM Activity Group on Optimization Best Paper Prize

Established in 1992, this prize is awarded to the author or authors of the most outstanding paper, as determined by the selection committee, on a topic in optimization.

Prize Description

Prize Description

The SIAM Activity Group on Optimization Best Paper Prize (SIAG/OPT Best Paper Prize) is awarded every three years to the author(s) of the most outstanding paper, as determined by the prize committee, on a topic in optimization published in the four calendar years preceding the award year.

Eligibility Criteria

The qualifying paper must contain significant research contributions to the field of optimization, as commonly defined in the mathematical literature, with direct or potential applications. The paper must have been published in English in a peer-reviewed journal within the four calendar years preceding the award year.

For the 2023 award, the paper must have been published between the dates of January 1, 2019 – December 31, 2022.

Required Materials

  • Nominator’s letter of recommendation for candidate paper
  • Bibliographic citation for candidate paper
  • Digital version of the candidate paper (PDF required)

Winner Announcement

Congratulations to Hamza Fawzi, James Saunderson, and Pablo Parrilo, the 2020 SIAG/OPT Best Paper Prize winners!

~*Learn More*~

Prize Information

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations.

View All

Related Activity Group

Learn about the SIAM Activity Group on Optimization.

Read More

Selection Committee

Selection Committee


Mihai Anitescu
Argonne National Laboratory


Erling Andersen
Thomas Coleman
University of Waterloo
Monique Laurent
Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica
Tilburg University

Akiko Yoshise
University of Tsukuba

About the Award

About the SIAM Activity Group on Optimization Best Paper Prize

The SIAG/OPT Best Paper Prize includes a certificate containing the citation. If the selected paper has multiple authors, each author will receive a certificate. As part of the award, the recipient will be invited to give a brief plenary talk at the conference. SIAM will reimburse the recipient for reasonable travel expenses incurred in attending the conference to receive the award and give the talk.

Award Date

The prize will next be awarded in 2023 at the SIAM Conference on Optimization.

Award Presentation

The Chair of the SIAM Activity Group on Optimization will announce the award and present the award to the recipient(s) who is present. An announcement of the award recipient(s) will appear in SIAM News and the activity group's newsletter.

Prize History

Prize History

Selection Committee

Mihai Anitescu (Chair)
Erling Andersen
Thomas Coleman
Monique Laurent
Akiko Yoshise

Selection Committee

Martine Labbé (Chair)
Miguel Anjos
Coralia Cartis
Adrian Lewis

Read More about the Winner

Selection Committee

Mihai Anitescu (Chair)
Robert Freund
Dorit Hochbaum<./span>
Zhi-Quan (Tom) Luo
Luis Nunes Vicente

Selection Committee

Yinyu Ye (Chair)
Shabbir Ahmed
Philip Gill
Etienne de Klerk
Jean Philippe Richard

Selection Committee

Robert Vanderbei (Chair)
Philip Gill
Raphael Hauser
Dick den Hertog
David Karger

No Selection Committee

Selection Committee

Philippe L. Toint (Chair)
Harvey J. Greenberg
Masakazu Kojima
Levent Tuncel

1999 Michel X. Goemans and David P. Williamson
1996 Dimitris J. Bertsimas and Michel X. Goemans


Contact Prize Program