SIAM > Prizes & Recognition > Fellows Program > All SIAM Fellows > Class of 2013

Class of 2013

SIAM Fellows 2013

SIAM Fellows Program. Honor SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline. Help make outstanding SIAM members more competitive for awards and honors when they are being compared with colleagues from other disciplines.

Randolph E. Bank | University of California, San Diego

For contributions to multilevel iterative methods and adaptive numerical methods for partial differential equations.

Kaushik Bhattacharya | California Institute of Technology

For contributions to mathematical aspects of materials science, especially the modeling of martensitic transformation and its consequences.

Jerry L. Bona | University of Illinois at Chicago

For fundamental contributions to nonlinear waves.

Oscar P. Bruno | California Institute of Technology

For contributions to the theory of composite materials and the numerical simulation of wave phenomena.

John A. Burns | Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

For contributions to control and approximation of partial differential equations.

Raymond Honfu Chan | The Chinese University of Hong Kong

For advances in numerical linear algebra and imaging science, including the theory of Toeplitz solvers.

Andrew R. Conn* | IBM T. J. Watson Research Center

For fundamental contributions to optimization theory, software and industrial practice.

Benoit Couet | Schlumberger-Doll Research Center

For contributions to optimization under uncertainty and its implementation in industrial practice, and for leadership in mentoring young researchers.

Timothy A. Davis | Texas A&M University

For contributions to sparse matrix algorithms and software, including the University of Florida Sparse Matrix Collection.

Qiang Du | Penn State University

For contributions to applied and computational mathematics with applications in material science, computational geometry, and biology.

Michael C. Ferris | University of Wisconsin--Madison

For contributions to mathematical programming algorithms, computation, and theory, particularly in the area of complementarity.

Christodoulos A. Floudas* | Princeton University

For contributions to global optimization and its application to a wide range of problems spanning systems engineering and computational biology.

Michel X. Goemans | Massachusetts Institute of Technology

For contributions to combinatorial optimization, and in particular to the design and analysis of approximation algorithms.

Andrew V. Goldberg | Microsoft Research

For fundamental contributions in the design, analysis, and implementation of algorithms for network optimization problems.

Alan Hastings | University of California, Davis

For leadership in theoretical ecology, helping to lay the foundation for scientifically-based agriculture and resource management.

Sze-Bi Hsu | National Tsing Hua University

For contributions to mathematical ecology and in particular the theory of the chemostat and competing species in ecology.

Shi Jin | Shanghai Jiao Tong University and University of Wisconsin-Madison

For contributions to relaxation schemes, numerical algorithms for kinetic equations and high frequency wave propagation.

David Kinderlehrer | Carnegie Mellon University

For contributions to nonlinear partial differential equations, the calculus of variations, and mathematical aspects of materials science.

Edgar Knobloch | University of California, Berkeley

For contributions to pattern formation and nonlinear dynamics, bifurcation theory and fluid dynamics.

C. David Levermore | University of Maryland, College Park

For contributions to the understanding of how large-scale behaviors emerge from dynamics or structures on small-scales.

Marc Mangel | University of California, Santa Cruz

For contributions to mathematical biology, including behavioral ecology, conservation biology, fisheries management, and the biology of stem cells.

Hans G. Othmer | University of Minnesota

For contributions to mathematical biology, in particular the theory of pattern formation in biological systems.

Haesun Park | Georgia Institute of Technology

For contributions to numerical analysis and the data sciences.

Robert J. Plemmons | Wake Forest University

For contributions to matrix theory and algorithms, especially nonnegative matrices and computational methods for signal and image processing.

John Rinzel | New York University

For contributions to mathematical neuroscience and mathematical physiology, in particular the dissection of complex fast-slow dynamical systems.

Björn Sandstede | Brown University

For contributions to applied dynamical systems involving the computational and analytical study of pattern formation in physical and biological systems.

Guillermo Sapiro | Duke University

For contributions to both theory and practice in the fields of image processing and computer vision.

Michael A. Saunders | Stanford University

For contributions to numerical optimization, linear algebra, and software.

Larry L. Schumaker | Vanderbilt University

For contributions to the theory and applications of spline functions, geometric design and finite elements.

Horst D. Simon | Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

For contributions to parallel computing and computational science.

Peter R. Turner | Clarkson University

For leadership in advancing applied mathematical education, including the creation of SIAM Undergraduate Research Online.

Pauline van den Driessche | University of Victoria

For contributions to linear algebra and mathematical biology.

James A. Yorke | University of Maryland, College Park

For contributions to the understanding and application of chaotic dynamics.