Class of 2021

Class of 2021

SIAM Fellows Program. Honor SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline. Help make outstanding SIAM members more competitive for awards and honors when they are being compared with colleagues from other disciplines.

Alejandro Aceves | Southern Methodist University

For pioneering contributions to the field of nonlinear waves and its applications to a variety of areas, most notably nonlinear optics.

James V. Burke | University of Washington

For pioneering contributions to continuous optimization and variational analysis.

Robert Calderbank | Duke University

For deep contributions to information theory.

Xiaojun Chen | Hong Kong Polytechnic University

For contributions to optimization, stochastic variational inequalities, and nonsmooth analysis.

Edmond Chow | Georgia Institute of Technology

For contributions to computational science and engineering in the areas of numerical linear algebra and high-performance computing.

Robert D. Falgout | Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

For contributions to the theory, practice, and large-scale applications of multilevel solvers and for widely used parallel software.

Martín Farach-Colton | Rutgers University

For contributions to the design and analysis of algorithms and their use in storage systems and computational biology.

Shmuel Friedland | University of Illinois at Chicago

For deep and varied contributions to mathematics, especially linear algebra, matrix theory, and matrix computations.

Gary Froyland | University of New South Wales

For contributions to dynamical systems and discrete optimization and the advancement of transfer operator methods.

Tryphon T. Georgiou | University of California, Irvine

For foundational contribution to the theory of robust control and to spectral analysis of time series.

Jean-Luc Guermond | Texas A&M University

For innovative contributions to computational fluid mechanics and fundamental contributions to the development and teaching of the finite element methods.

Trachette L. Jackson | University of Michigan

For innovative contributions to mathematical modelling in cancer biology and for the advancement of underrepresented minorities in science.

Jeremy V. Kepner | MIT Lincoln Laboratory

For contributions to interactive parallel computing, matrix-based graph algorithms, green supercomputing, and big data.

Denise Kirschner | University of Michigan

For contributions to modeling pathogen-host interactions and host immune response in infectious diseases and training in mathematical biology/immunology.

Rachel Levy | North Carolina State University

For leadership in applied mathematics education, especially in mathematical modeling, across the entire educational spectrum.

Per-Gunnar Martinsson | University of Texas at Austin

For contributions to the numerical solution of partial differential equations and to the development of randomized algorithms for matrix computations.

Anna L. Mazzucato | Penn State University

For discerning analysis of fundamental problems in partial differential equations and mathematical fluid mechanics including boundary layers, transport, and mixing.

Kirsten A. Morris | University of Waterloo

For contributions to modeling, approximation, and control design for distributed parameter systems.

Habib N. Najm | Sandia National Laboratories

For pioneering contributions to uncertainty quantification and the use of Bayesian methods in physical modeling, with applications to combustion and far beyond.

Qing Nie | University of California, Irvine

For research and mentoring contributions spanning applied and computational mathematics and developmental cell biology.

Beatrice M. Riviere | Rice University

For contributions in numerical analysis, scientific computing, and modeling of porous media.

Jonathan E. Rubin | University of Pittsburgh

For contributions to mathematical neuroscience, mathematical biology, and dynamical systems theory.

Jennifer Scott | University of Reading and Science and Technology Facilities Council

For contributions to sparse matrix algorithms and software.

Eitan Tadmor | University of Maryland College Park

For original, broad, and fundamental contributions to applied and computational mathematics, including conservation laws, kinetics, image processing, and social dynamics.

Shang-Hua Teng | University of Southern California

For contributions to scalable algorithm design, mesh generation, and algorithmic game theory, and for pioneering smoothed analysis of linear programming.

Rebecca M. Willett | University of Chicago

For contributions to mathematical foundations of machine learning, large-scale data science, and computational imaging.

Andreas Wächter | Northwestern University

For fundamental contributions to nonlinear optimization, including algorithm design, theory, and software.

Jack Xin | University of California, Irvine

For pioneering work on traveling waves in periodic and random media and applications ranging from signal processing to finance.