SIAM | Fellows

SIAM Fellows

SIAM Fellows Program. Honor SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline. Help make outstanding SIAM members more competitive for awards and honors when they are being compared with colleagues from other disciplines.

SIAM Fellows


Jeffrey C. Lagarias | University of Michigan (2014)

For contributions to the theory of wavelets and harmonic analysis, and to interior-point and direct search optimization.

Peter Lancaster | University of Calgary (2009)

For contributions to matrix analysis and its applications to vibrations, systems theory and control.

Irena Lasiecka | University of Memphis (2019)

For fundamental contributions to control theory of partial differential equations and their dissemination through numerous invited talks, administrative positions in professional societies, and the mentoring of many PhD students and postdoctoral associates.

Jean B. Lasserre | Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and Institute of Mathematics, University of Toulouse (2014)

For contributions to global polynomial optimization and the generalized problem of moments.

Alan J. Laub | University of California, Los Angeles (2016)

For contributions to the numerical solution of problems in control and filtering.

Monique Laurent | Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI), Amsterdam, and Tilburg University (2017)

For contributions to discrete and polynomial optimization and revealing interactions between them.

Kristin E. Lauter | Microsoft Research (2020)

For the development of practical cryptography and for leadership in the mathematical community.

Peter D. Lax | Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, Emeritus (2009)

For contributions to conservation laws, scattering theory, integrable systems, and numerical analysis.

Randall J. LeVeque | University of Washington (2010)

For contribution to numerical analysis and scientific computing, particularly for conservation laws.

Richard B. Lehoucq | Sandia National Laboratories (2024)

For contributions to numerical linear algebra and software, continuum mechanics, nonlocal modeling, applications of probability to optimization, and high-dimensional data analysis.

Frank Thomson Leighton | Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2009)

For contributions to the design of networks and circuits and for technology for Web content delivery.

Charles E. Leiserson | Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2015)

For enduring influence on parallel computing systems and their adoption into mainstream use through scholarly research and development.

Suzanne M. Lenhart | University of Tennessee Knoxville (2011)

For contributions to optimal control with biological and physical applications and for contributions to undergraduate research.

Naomi Ehrich Leonard | Princeton University (2012)

For contributions to the control of underwater vehicles and the coordination of ensembles of independent agents, and for fundamental work in understanding the organization of animal schools and swarms.

C. David Levermore | University of Maryland, College Park (2013)

For contributions to the understanding of how large-scale behaviors emerge from dynamics or structures on small-scales.

Simon A. Levin | Princeton University (2009)

For contributions to mathematical biology and ecology.

Rachel Levy | North Carolina State University (2021)

For leadership in applied mathematics education, especially in mathematical modeling, across the entire educational spectrum.

Adrian S. Lewis | Cornell University (2009)

For contributions to variational analysis and nonsmooth optimization.

Mark A. Lewis | University of Alberta (2017)

For contributions to mathematical biology and the study of spatial dynamics processes.

John G. Lewis* | The Boeing Company and Cray, Retired (2011)

For contributions to sparse linear algebra and high performance computing.

Sven Leyffer | Argonne National Laboratory (2009)

For contributions to large-scale nonlinear optimization.

Xiaoye Sherry Li | Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (2016)

For advances in the development of fast and scalable sparse matrix algorithms and fostering their use in large-scale scientific and engineering applications.

Knut-Andreas Lie | SINTEF (2020)

For contributions to the advancement of mathematics within the geosciences, multiscale and operator-splitting numerical methods, and open-source software tools.

Lek-Heng Lim | University of Chicago (2022)

For pioneering contributions to numerical multilinear algebra, and for introducing high-level algebra, geometry, and topology to applied mathematics.

Qun Lin | Chinese Academy of Sciences (2015)

For contributions to numerical methods for partial differential equations and integral equations.

Fang-Hua Lin | New York University (2022)

For significant contributions to our understanding of the properties of solutions throughout nonlinear partial differential equations.

Anders G. Lindquist | KTH - Royal Institute of Technology (2010)

For contributions to systems and control.

Robert Lipton | Louisiana State University (2020)

For contributions to the mathematics of materials and their translation to engineering applications.

Tai-Ping Liu | Academia Sinica (2014)

For advances in the theory of shock waves and kinetic theory.

Helena J. Nussenzveig Lopes | Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (2016)

For advances in analysis of weak solutions of incompressible Euler equations and for advancing applied mathematics in Brazil and internationally.

Zhi-Quan Luo | University of Minnesota (2011)

For the development of novel applied mathematics ideas and methods for signal processing and digital communication.

Mitchell B. Luskin | University of Minnesota (2014)

For contributions to multiscale numerical methods for materials with microstructure and defects and atomistic to continuum models.