SIAM | Fellows

SIAM Fellows

SIAM Fellows Program. Honor SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline. Help make outstanding SIAM members more competitive for awards and honors when they are being compared with colleagues from other disciplines.

SIAM Fellows


Dianne P. O'Leary | University of Maryland, College Park (2009)

For contributions to linear algebra, regularization, and applications.

Robert E. O'Malley, Jr.* | University of Washington (2009)

For contributions to asymptotics and singular perturbations.

John R. Ockendon | University of Oxford (2009)

For leadership of industrial applied mathematics study groups.

J. Tinsley Oden | University of Texas at Austin (2009)

For advances in finite element analysis and computational mechanics.

Andrew M. Odlyzko | University of Minnesota (2023)

For fundamental and visionary contributions to analytic and computational number theory, cryptography, and communication and electronic publishing.

Peter J. Olver | University of Minnesota (2014)

For developing new geometric methods for differential equations leading to applications in fluid mechanics, elasticity, quantum mechanics, and image processing.

Cornelis W. Oosterlee | Utrecht University (2024)

For outstanding contributions to multigrid methods and financial mathematics, and exceptional service to these research communities.

Elaine S. Oran | U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (2009)

For contributions to the simulation of reactive flows and other complex processes.

Michael R. Osborne | The Australian National University (2009)

For contributions to numerical analysis and optimization.

Stanley J. Osher | University of California, Los Angeles (2009)

For contributions to the numerical solution of partial differential equations, level set methods, and image processing.

Hinke M. Osinga | The University of Auckland (2015)

For contributions to theory and computational methods for dynamical systems.

Hans G. Othmer | University of Minnesota (2013)

For contributions to mathematical biology, in particular the theory of pattern formation in biological systems.

Edward Ott | University of Maryland, College Park (2012)

For broad and deep investigations of nonlinear dynamical systems, which highlight both theory and application.

Michael L. Overton | Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University (2009)

For advances in numerical optimization and eigenvalue problems.

Art B. Owen | Stanford University (2024)

For seminal contributions straddling computational mathematics and statistics.

Houman Owhadi | California Institute of Technology (2022)

For outstanding contributions in statistical numerical approximation, kernel learning, and uncertainty quantification.