SIAM | Fellows

SIAM Fellows

SIAM Fellows Program. Honor SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline. Help make outstanding SIAM members more competitive for awards and honors when they are being compared with colleagues from other disciplines.

SIAM Fellows


Grace Wahba | University of Wisconsin-Madison (2009)

For advances in the analysis of experimental data.

Homer F. Walker | Worcester Polytechnic Institute (2018)

For contributions to theory and software of iterative methods for nonlinear systems and optimization, as well as application of these methods to scientific simulations.

Charles W. Wampler | General Motors Company (2015)

For his pioneering work in kinematics and the numerical solution of polynomial systems.

Frederic Y. M. Wan | University of California Irvine (2010)

For contributions to the theory of elasticity and to developmental biology, and for outstanding service to the mathematical sciences.

Michael S. Waterman | University of Southern California (2009)

For contributions to computational biology.

Layne Terry Watson | Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (2024)

For pioneering the theoretical development, algorithm design, software implementation, and application of homotopy methods.

Clarence Eugene Wayne | Boston University (2015)

For contributions to the theory of dynamical systems and partial differential equations.

J. A.C. Weideman | Stellenbosch University (2017)

For powerful and elegant numerical algorithms derived from complex analysis.

Michael I. Weinstein | Columbia University (2010)

For contributions to the analysis and applications of nonlinear waves.

Burton Wendroff | Los Alamos National Laboratory (2009)

For contributions to the numerical solution of partial differential equations.

John S. Wettlaufer | Yale University and Nordic Institute for Theoretical Physics (2023)

For fundamental contributions to the modeling of interfacial problems, the study of ice, geophysics, and climate dynamics.

Mary F. Wheeler | University of Texas at Austin (2009)

For contributions to modeling and computational simulation in the geosciences.

Nathaniel Whitaker | University of Massachusetts (2024)

For significant achievements in broadening participation in mathematics and important contributions to multiple fields in applied mathematics, especially fluid mechanics.

Olof B. Widlund | Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University (2010)

For contributions to the theory of domain decomposition methods.

Karen E. Willcox | Massachusetts Institute of Technology (2018)

For contributions to model reduction and multifidelity methods, with applications in optimization, control, design, and uncertainty quantification of large-scale systems.

Jan C. Willems | K.U. Leuven (2012)

For development of conceptual and physical aspects of modeling dynamical systems.

Rebecca M. Willett | University of Chicago (2021)

For contributions to mathematical foundations of machine learning, large-scale data science, and computational imaging.

Forman A. Williams | University of California, San Diego (2009)

For contributions to the understanding of combustion processes.

Ruth J. Williams | University of California San Diego (2020)

For contributions to the study of stochastic processes and their applications.

David P. Williamson | Cornell University (2016)

For fundamental contributions to the design and analysis of approximation algorithms.

Walter Willinger | AT&T Labs - Research (2009)

For the study of network traffic and the internet.

Shmuel Winograd | IBM Corporation (2009)

For scientific leadership and contributions to fast algorithms in computer science.

Barbara Wohlmuth | Technische Universität München (2020)

For sustained seminal contributions to the field of numerical mathematics and for exemplary leadership and service to the computational science community.

Henry Wolkowicz | University of Waterloo (2015)

For contributions to convex optimization and matrix theory.

Carol S. Woodward | Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (2017)

For the development and application of numerical algorithms and software for large-scale simulations of complex physical phenomena.

Margaret H. Wright | Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University (2009)

For contributions to numerical optimization and service to the profession.

Stephen J. Wright | University of Wisconsin Madison (2011)

For contributions to the theory and computational aspects of linear and nonlinear optimization.

Andreas Wächter | Northwestern University (2021)

For fundamental contributions to nonlinear optimization, including algorithm design, theory, and software.