Featured News and Announcements

SIAM's Response to the International Outbreak of Coronavirus (COVID-19)
2021 Class of SIAM Fellows
SIAM Epidemiology Collection

Joint Prizes

Norbert Wiener Prize

Established in 1967, the prize honors Norbert Wiener, a founder of the field of cybernetics. The prize is awarded every three years by SIAM and the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for an outstanding contribution to applied mathematics. Nominations can be submitted via the AMS website.

Nomination Deadline: June 30, 2021

Submit a Nomination

Prize Description

Prize Description

The Norbert Wiener Prize in Applied Mathematics recognizes outstanding contributions to applied mathematics in the highest and broadest sense. The prize is administered by the AMS and awarded jointly by AMS and SIAM.

Eligibility Criteria

A candidate must be a member of AMS or SIAM.

Required Materials

  • Nominator’s letter of recommendation for candidate
  • CV of the candidate
  • Proposed citation (up to 50 words)

Call for Nominations

The AMS website is now accepting nominations for the 2022 Norbert Wiener Prize!

~*Submit a Nomination*~

Prize Details

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations.

View All

Selection Committee

Selection Committee


Bruce Boghosian
Tufts University


Suncica Canic
University of California, Berkeley
Ingrid Daubechies
Duke University

About the Award

About the Norbert Wiener Prize

The Norbert Wiener Prize includes a $5,000 monetary prize and a certificate containing the citation.

Award Date

The Norbert Wiener Prize will next be awarded in January 2022 at the Joint Mathematics Meetings.

Award Presentation

The award will be presented at the Prize Session and Reception during the Joint Mathematics Meetings. The announcement of the award will appear in SIAM News, the SIAM website, and appropriate electronic media.

Award Fund

The initial funds for the prize were donated by the Mathematics Department of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The funds are held and managed by AMS.

Prize History

Prize History

Selection Committee

Emmanuel Candes (Chair)
James Demmel
Charles Doering

Selection Committee

Emmanuel Candes (Chair)
James Demmel
Charles Doering

Selection Committee

Charles L. Epstein (Chair)
Walter Craig
Ronald A. DeVore

Selection Committee

Jerry L. Bona
Roger M. Temam

Selection Committee

James G. Glimm
Roland Glowinski
Nancy J. Kopell

Selection Committee

Philip J. Holmes (Chair)
David B. Mumford
Stanley J. Osher

Selection Committee

Thomas M. Liebling (Chair)
Martin Groetschel
Philip J. Holmes

2000 Alexandre J. Chorin, Arthur T. Winfree
1995 Hermann Flaschka, Ciprian Foias
1990 Michael Alzenman, Jerrold E. Marsden
1985 Clifford S. Gardner
1980 Tosio Kato, Gerald B. Whitham
1975 Peter D. Lax
1970 Richard E. Bellman


Contact Prize Program