Featured News and Announcements

SIAM's Response to the International Outbreak of Coronavirus (COVID-19)
Vote in the 2020 SIAM General Election
Dr. Suzanne L. Weekes Named SIAM Executive Director

Major Prizes & Lectures

Germund Dahlquist Prize

The prize was established in 1995, and named in honor of Germund Dahlquist for his early contributions to the theory of numerical analysis as applied to differential equations. It is awarded for original contributions to fields associated with his work.

Nomination Deadline: October 15, 2020

Submit a Nomination

Prize Description

Prize Description

The Germund Dahlquist Prize is awarded every two years to one individual for original contributions to numerical solution of differential equations and numerical methods for scientific computing.

Eligibility Criteria

The candidate must have no more than 18 years (full time equivalent) of involvement in mathematics since receiving his or her PhD at the award date, allowing for breaks in continuity. The prize committee can make exceptions, if in their opinion the candidate is at an equivalent stage in their career. 

For the 2021 award, the candidate’s PhD must have been received in 2003 or later.

Required Materials

  • Nominator’s letter of recommendation for candidate
  • Candidate’s CV
  • Two or three letters of support from experts in the field

Call for Nominations

SIAM is now accepting nominations for the 2021 Germund Dahlquist Prize!

~*Submit a Nomination*~

Prize Details

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations.

View All

Selection Committee

About the Award

About the Germund Dahlquist Prize

The Germund Dahlquist Prize includes a $2,000 monetary prize and a certificate. SIAM will reimburse the recipient for reasonable travel expenses incurred in accepting the award.

Award Date

The Germund Dahlquist Prize will next be awarded in 2021 at the International Conference on Scientific Computation and Differential Equations (SciCADE 2021).

Award Presentation

The SciCADE organizers will determine who will present the award. The announcement of the award will appear in SIAM News, the SIAM website, and appropriate electronic media.

Prize History

Prize History

Selection Committee

Christopher Budd (Chair)
Tobin Driscoll
Robert McLachlan
Elena Celledoni

Selection Committee

Randall J. LeVeque (Chair)
Marlis Hochbruck
Aslak Tveito

Selection Committee

Tommy Elfving (Chair)
Selim Esedoglu
Alfio Quarteroni
Eric Vanden Eijnden
Kees Vuik

Selection Committee

Arieh Iserles (Chair)
Uri Ascher
Susanne Brenner
Hans Munthe-Kaas
Steven Ruuth

Selection Committee

Olof Widlund (Chair)
John Butcher
Jesus Sanz-Serna
Robert Schreiber
Ragnar Winther

Selection Committee

Desmond J. Higham (Chair)
Bo Kagstrom
Ben Leimkuhler
Robert Schreiber
Olof Widlund

Selection Committee

Sebastian Reich (Chair)
Desmond J. Higham
Bo Kagstrom
Ben Leimkuhler
Andy Wathen

Selection Committee

Christian Lubich (Chair)
Stephen L. Campbell 
Sebastian Reich 
Gustaf Soderlind 

Selection Committee

Linda R. Petzold (Chair)
Kevin Burrage 
Gustaf Soderlind 
Andrew Stuart

2001 Christian Lubich

Selection Committee

C. William Gear (Chair)
Uri M. Ascher
John C. Butcher
Ernst Hairer
Claes Johnsson

1999 Linda R. Petzold

Selection Committee

James Varah (Chair)
Rolf Jeltsch
Olavi Nevanlinna
Robert Skeel
Andrew Stuart

1997 Andrew M. Stuart

Selection Committee

Robert Skeel (Chair)
Franco Brezzi
Olavi Nevanlinna
Robert E. O'Malley, Jr.
J. M. Sanz-Serna

1995 J.M. Sanz-Serna

Selection Committee

Syvert P. Norsett (Chair)
Wayne H. Enright
C. William Gear
Gerhard Wanner


Contact Prize Program