Jerald L. Ericksen Prize

Featured News and Announcements

Nominations Open for SIAM Prizes
Register Now for the 2024 SIAM Annual Meeting!
Celebrating Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month

Major Prizes & Lectures

Jerald L. Ericksen Prize

Established in 2021 in memory of Jerald L. Ericksen, the prize is awarded every 5 years for the original formulation of a mathematical theory of a significant scientific or engineering problem in the fifteen years preceding the award date.

Nomination Deadline: October 15, 2024

Submit a Nomination

Prize Description

Prize Description

The prize may recognize either a formulation that enables the novel application of mathematical ideas or a formulation that raises new questions in mathematics. The prize is awarded for research completed in the fifteen years preceding the award date.

Eligibility Criteria

The prize may be awarded to any member or members of the scientific community meeting the general guidelines of the award. The prize should be given for a single piece of work. The prize may be awarded to multiple individuals but only for contributions to a single piece of their collaborative work.

For the 2025 award, the research must have been published between January 1, 2010 – December 31, 2024.

Required Materials

  • Nominator’s letter of recommendation for candidate(s)
  • CV(s) of candidate(s)
  • Two or three letters of support from experts in the field

Call for Nominations

SIAM is now accepting nominations for the inaugural award.

~*Submit a Nomination*~

Prize Details

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations.

View All

Selection Committee

About the Award

About the Jerald L. Ericksen Prize

The Ericksen Prize award will be $2,000 (with adjustments depending on the income of the prize fund) and a certificate for each recipient. If more than one person receives the prize, the cash award is to be divided equally among the recipients.

As part of the award, the recipient or a representative of the collaboration will be required to present a lecture at the SIAM annual meeting. The lecture will be publicized in meeting announcements. Travel funds will be made available to reimburse the speaker for reasonable travel expenses incurred in attending the award ceremony and giving the lecture.

Award Date

The prize will first be awarded at the 2025 SIAM Annual Meeting.

Award Presentation

The award will be presented by the president of SIAM. The chair of the selection committee will announce the award, read the citation and introduce the lecturer. The announcement of the award will be in SIAM News, the SIAM website and released to other appropriate scientific journals, electronic newsletters, and major daily newspapers.

Award Fund

The prize is made possible by generous gifts from friends and family of Jerald L. Ericksen, with lead support from Lynn Cadmus and Randolph Ericksen.

Other donors include Samson Adeleke · Romesh Batra · Millard Beatty · Kaushik Bhattacharya · Yi-Chao Chen · Constantine Dafermos · Robert Hadt · Richard James · David Kinderlehrer · R. Knops · Chi-Sing Man · Lev Truskinovsky

Prize History


Contact Prize Program