Featured News and Announcements

Applications are Open for the SIAM Science Policy Fellowship Program
Apply to be a MGB-SIAM Early Career Fellow
Vote in the 2023 SIAM General Election

SIAM Student Prizes

SIAM Student Paper Prize

The SIAM Student Paper Prize is awarded annually to the student author(s) of the most outstanding paper(s) accepted by SIAM journals within the three years preceding the nomination deadline. Starting with the 2018 award, the focus of the prize is to recognize outstanding scholarship by students in SIAM journals.

Nomination Deadline: February 15, 2024

Submit a Nomination

Prize Description

Prize Description

The SIAM Student Paper Prize is awarded annually to the student author(s) of the most outstanding paper(s) accepted by SIAM journals within the three years preceding the nomination deadline. The award is based solely on the merit and content of the student's contribution to the submitted paper. Up to three awards are made every year.

Eligibility Criteria

The candidate must have been a student in good standing at the time the paper was submitted for publication. The candidate may be no longer a student at the nomination deadline, but the paper must have been submitted to the journal while they were a student. At most one author of an eligible paper can be awarded. The candidate can only be considered for a single paper in any year. The paper must have been accepted for publication in a SIAM journal within the three years preceding the nomination deadline. The paper does not need to be published at the time of nomination.

For the 2024 award, the paper must have been accepted for publication between the dates of February 15, 2021 - February 14, 2024.

Required Materials

The nominator, typically the student's adviser or a senior co-author, must submit the following items:

  • Nominator’s letter
    • Certifying that the candidate and the paper meet the eligibility criteria;
    • Attesting that all co-authors (if any) of the paper have agreed to the nomination;
    • Describing the paper's research contribution and the candidate's role in the scholarship
  • Candidate’s CV, at most 2 pages
  • Digital version of the paper (PDF required)

Call for Nominations

SIAM is now accepting nominations for the 2024 SIAM Student Paper Prize.

~*Submit a Nomination*~

Attend the Meeting

Due to ICIAM 2023, the 2023 SIAM Student Paper Prize will be awarded at AN24.

~*Learn More*~

Prize Details

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations

View All

Selection Committee

About the Award

About the SIAM Student Paper Prize

The SIAM Student Paper Prize includes a $1,000 monetary award and a certificate. As part of the award, each recipient will be invited to present their paper at the SIAM Annual Meeting. SIAM will reimburse each recipient the value of a SIAM Travel Award ($650 for domestic travel; $800 for intercontinental travel) toward their travel expenses incurred in attending the meeting and giving the talk.

Award Date

The SIAM Student Paper Prize will next be awarded at the 2024 SIAM Annual Meeting.

Award Presentation

The award will be presented by the SIAM President. The announcement of the award will appear in SIAM News, the SIAM website, and appropriate electronic media.

Prize History

Prize History


  • Rujeko Chinomona
  • Perfect Gidisu
  • Michael Schmischke


  • William Anderson
  • Barbara I. Mahler
  • Ruoxuan Yang


  • Yingjie Bi
  • Michelle Feng
  • Yuanzhao Zhang


  • Vasileios Kalantzis
  • Jonas Latz
  • Elizabeth Qian


  • Joseph L. Hart
  • Michael Lindsey
  • Daniel Massatt


  • Marya Bazzi
  • Gene S. Kopp
  • Yiqiao Zhong


  • Zachary Grant
  • Bamdad Hosseini
  • Shuyang Ling


  • Mario Berljafa
  • Natalie Stanley
  • Fatma Terziouglu


  • Andril Dmytryshyn
  • Yura Malitsky
  • Giang Thi Tra Tran

2014 Sean P. Cornelius
2014 Carlos Fernandez-Granda
2014 Iain Smears
2013 Joscha Gedlicke
2013 Keiichi Morikuni
2013 Vladislav Voroninski
2012 Brittany D. Froese
2012 Stefanie Hollborn
2012 Marina Moraiti
2011 Necdet Serhat Aybat
2011 Sungwoo Park
2011 Xiangxiong Zhang
2010 Bubacarr Bah
2010 Russell Carden
2010 Karin Leiderman
2009 Awad H. Al-Mohy
2009 Jie chen
2009 Shun Zhang
2008 Jeremy Brandman
2008 Roland Griesmaier
2008 David Ketcheson
2007 Thomas T. Bringley
2007 Nir Gavish
2007 Kristoffer G. van der Zee
2006 Laurent Demanet
2006 Emanuele Viola
2006 Hongchao Zhang
2005 Boyce E. Griffith
2005 Rachel Levy
2005 Caroline Cardoso Manica
2004 Silas D. Alben
2004 Alfonso Bueno-Orovio
2004 Martin Kleinsteuber
2003 Chek Beng Chua
2003 Michiel Hochstenbach
2003 Melvin Leok
2002 Pierre-Antoine Absil
2002 Dong Eui Chang
2002 Andreas Waechter
2001 Rogerio Martins
2001 Matthew I. Smith
2001 Mason A. Porter
2000 Robert Scheichl
2000 Raphael Hauser
2000 Jian Deng
1999 Dirk Gillespie
1999 Traian Iliescu
1999 David Lutterkort


Contact Prize Program