Featured News and Announcements

Applications are Open for the SIAM Science Policy Fellowship Program
Apply to be a MGB-SIAM Early Career Fellow
Vote in the 2023 SIAM General Election

Activity Group Prizes

SIAM Activity Group on Imaging Science Best Paper Prize

Established in 2010, the prize is awarded to the author or authors of the most outstanding paper, as determined by the selection committee, on mathematical and computational aspects of imaging.

Nomination Deadline: October 15, 2023

Submit a Nomination

Prize Description

Prize Description

The SIAM Activity Group on Imaging Sciences Best Paper Prize (SIAG/IS Best Paper Prize) is awarded every two years to the author(s) of the most outstanding paper on mathematical and computational aspects of imaging published within the four calendar years preceding the year prior to the award year.

The term “imaging” can be broadly interpreted to include image formation, inverse problems in imaging, image processing, image analysis, image interpretation and understanding, computer graphics, and visualization.

Eligibility Criteria

The qualifying paper must contain significant research contributions in the field of imaging. The paper must have been published in English in a peer-reviewed journal, with a publication date in the four calendar years preceding the year prior to the award year.

For the 2024 award, the paper must have been published between the dates of January 1, 2020– December 31, 2023.

Required Materials

  • Nominator’s letter of recommendation for candidate paper
  • Bibliographic citation for candidate paper
  • Digital version of the candidate paper (PDF required)

Call for Nominations

SIAM is now accepting nominations for the 2024 SIAG/IS Best Paper Prize.

~*Submit a Nomination*~

Prize Information

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations.

View All

Related Activity Group

Learn about the SIAM Activity Group on Imaging Science.

Read More

Selection Committee

Selection Committee


Hongkai Zhao
Duke University


Jeff Fessler
University of Michigan
Kui Ren
Columbia University
Xue Cheng Tai
Hong Kong Baptist University
Chrysoula Tsogka
University of Crete

About the Award

About the SIAM Activity Group on Imaging Science Best Paper Prize

The SIAG/IS Best Paper Prize includes a certificate containing the award citation. If the paper has multiple co-authors, each will receive a certificate. At least one of the awardees is invited to attend the ceremony and to present the paper as a plenary lecture at the meeting. SIAM will reimburse the recipient for reasonable travel expenses incurred in giving the lecture.

Award Date

The prize will next be awarded in 2024 at the SIAM Conference on Imaging Science.

Award Presentation

The Chair of the SIAM Activity Group on Imaging Science will present the award at the conference. An announcement of the award will appear in SIAM News, and on the activity group's website and newsletter.

Prize History

Prize History

Selection Committee

Hongkai Zhao (Chair)
Rick Chartrand
Ron Kimmel
Jin Seo
Rebecca Willett

Selection Committee

Gitta Kutyniok (Chair)
Julianne Chung
Omar Ghattas
Carola-Bibiane Schoenlieb
Stefan Wild

Read More about the Winners

Selection Committee

Chrysoula Tsogka (Chair)
Donald Geman
Stanley Osher

Selection Committee

Naoki Saito (Chair)
Liliana Borcea
Peyman Milanfar
Gunther Uhlmann
Michael Unser

Selection Committee

Selim Esedoglu (Chair)
Eric Miller
Fadil Santosa
Otmar Scherzer
Luminita Vese


Contact Prize Program