SIAM > Prizes & Recognition > Fellows Program > All SIAM Fellows > Class of 2014

Class of 2014

SIAM Fellows 2014

SIAM Fellows Program. Honor SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline. Help make outstanding SIAM members more competitive for awards and honors when they are being compared with colleagues from other disciplines.

Mark Ainsworth | Brown University

For contributions to numerical analysis and scientific computing including finite element methods, adaptive methods, reliability, and a posteriori error estimation.

John S. Baras | University of Maryland, College Park

For contributions to systems theory, stochastic control, and communication networks.

Lorenz T. Biegler | Carnegie Mellon University

For contributions in large-scale nonlinear optimization theory and algorithms, particularly IPOPT, and their novel application to flowsheet optimization, process control, data reconciliation, and complex process applications.

Ake Bjorck | Linkoping University, Emeritus

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, especially numerical methods for least squares problems.

Alfred M. Bruckstein | Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

For contributions to signal processing, image analysis, and ant robotics.

Suncica Canic | University of Houston

For contributions to the modeling and analysis of partial differential equations motivated by applications in the life sciences.

Inderjit S. Dhillon | The University of Texas at Austin

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, data analysis, and machine learning.

Vladimir L. Druskin | Schlumberger-Doll Research

For contributions to inverse problems, scientific computing, and numerical analysis and their application to hydrocarbon exploration.

Leah Edelstein-Keshet | University of British Columbia

For contributions to the mathematics and modeling of the cell, the immune system, and biological swarms, as well as to applied mathematics education.

Donald Estep | Colorado State University

For contributions to computational science and engineering, industrial collaborations, and mathematical exposition.

Bengt Fornberg | University of Colorado Boulder

For advances in spectral methods, radial basis functions, and other methods for computational fluid dynamics and partial differential equations.

Omar Ghattas | The University of Texas at Austin

For contributions to optimization of systems governed by partial differential equations and leadership to promote computational science and engineering.

Philip E. Gill | University of California, San Diego

For contributions to numerical optimization, linear algebra, and software.

Solomon W. Golomb* | University of Southern California

For contributions to coding theory, data encryption, communications, and mathematical games.

Jan S. Hesthaven | Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne

For advances in high-order numerical methods for partial differential equations and applications.

Dorit S. Hochbaum | University of California, Berkeley

For contributions to the design and analysis of approximation algorithms, flow problems, and their innovative use in applications, and in solving NP-hard problems.

Masakazu Kojima | Tokyo Institute of Technology and JST CREST

For contributions to semidefinite optimization and complementarity problems.

Jeffrey C. Lagarias | University of Michigan

For contributions to the theory of wavelets and harmonic analysis, and to interior-point and direct search optimization.

Jean B. Lasserre | Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and Institute of Mathematics, University of Toulouse

For contributions to global polynomial optimization and the generalized problem of moments.

Tai-Ping Liu | Academia Sinica

For advances in the theory of shock waves and kinetic theory.

Mitchell B. Luskin | University of Minnesota

For contributions to multiscale numerical methods for materials with microstructure and defects and atomistic to continuum models.

Nancy K. Nichols | University of Reading

For contributions to the numerical analysis of systems, control, and data assimilation.

Peter J. Olver | University of Minnesota

For developing new geometric methods for differential equations leading to applications in fluid mechanics, elasticity, quantum mechanics, and image processing.

Yuriko Yamamuro Renardy | Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

For contributions to the fluid dynamics of interfacial instabilities through the mathematical and numerical analysis of viscous, viscoelastic, and thermal effects.

L. Ridgway Scott | University of Chicago

For contributions to finite element methods and scientific computing.

Mikhail Shashkov | Los Alamos National Laboratory, X-Computational Physics Division

For contributions to the development of mimetic finite difference methods for nonlinear systems of partial differential equations.

Christine A. Shoemaker | Cornell University

For the development of optimization algorithms for groundwater flow and related environmental problems.

Valeria Simoncini | Universita di Bologna

For contributions to numerical linear algebra.

Zdenek Strakos | Charles University in Prague

For advances in numerical linear algebra, especially iterative methods.

Bernd Sturmfels | University of California, Berkeley

For advancing symbolic and numerical techniques for solving systems of nonlinear polynomial equations and inequalities and connecting computational algebraic geometry with applications.

Jorge X. Velasco-Hernandez | Instituto de Matematicas UNAM

For advances in mathematical epidemiology of infectious diseases and in mathematics applied in industry problems.

Michael S. Vogelius | Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

For contributions to the mathematical and numerical analysis of nonlinear problems of PDEs and applications in inverse problems, homogenization, and material science.