Education Committee

 

Name Email
Term Ending
Michael Bader bader@in.tum.de
2017
David Balaban dbalaban@amgen.com
2017
Ron Buckmire rbuckmir@nsf.gov
2019
Sigal Gottlieb sgottlieb@umassd.edu
2017
Kathleen Kavanagh

kkavanag@clarkson.edu

2017
Byong Kwon bykwon@asu.edu
2018
Rachel Levy levy@hmc.edu
2018
Joerg Liesen liesen@math.tu-berlin.de
2019
Lois Curfman McInnes Curfman@mcs.anl.gov
2017
Rachel Neville neville@math.colostate.edu
2019
Mason Porter porterm@maths.ox.ac.uk
2018
Jeffrey Humpherys jeffh@math.byu.edu
2017
Louis F Rossi rossi@math.udel.edu
2019
Katherine Socha ksocha@parkschool.net
2017
Suzanne Weekes, Chair sweekes@wpi.edu
2018

 

Committee Charge

Roles and Responsibilities

The Education Committee has responsibility for supporting the Vice President for Education in SIAM activities related to education, both graduate and undergraduate. These activities include recommendations on education policy and curricula in areas relevant to SIAM; carrying out programs to promote applied mathematics and computational science; and providing advice on general policy issues in education in the mathematical sciences.

Policy recommendations require approval of the SIAM Council and must go through the SIAM Vice President for Education.

In carrying out its roles and responsibilities, this committee oversees several ongoing programs. These include:

Other activities may include:

Structure of the Education Committee

The Committee on Committees and Appointments shall appoint a chair of the Education Committee who will report to the SIAM VP for Education. The number of appointments to this committee is not fixed, but that number should be justified by the ongoing activities of the committee. The Chair of the Committee shall recommend appointments to this committee to the Committee on Committees and Appointments which oversees the appointment process on behalf of the SIAM President. The length of each term shall be three years. Terms should staggered so that approximately one-third of the terms end each year. Individuals serve additional terms subject to SIAM policies on term limits.  SIAM recommends that appointed committee members serve at most two consecutive terms, although exceptions can be made in special circumstances.

The Chair of the Education Committee, in consultation with the VP at Large, may create subcommittees to carry out the programs of this committee. Subcommittees are ordinarily formed from a subset of members of the Education Committee. In the case that a subcommittee requires special expertise or abilities not found on the Education Committee, subcommittee appointments should go through the Committee on Committees and Appointments process for committee appointments.

Committee membership should reflect the breadth and diversity of the Society. Committee members should have broad knowledge of the Society and its members.

How the Committee Conducts its Business

The Education Committee traditionally meets twice per year. It holds one meeting during the January Joint Math Meetings; and one meeting during the SIAM Annual Meeting. Any business that must be transacted between these two meetings is ordinarily done via e-mail.

The VP for Education reports to the Council and Board twice a year on the activities of this committee.

Festivals Working Group

The Festivals Working Group is appointed by the chair of the Education Committee to organize SIAM booths at the USA Science and Engineering Festival and the National Math Festival. The working group will consist of three (3) members, with three (3) year terms; the second-year member chairs the committee. While the working group is being formed,  terms will be intentionally staggered. Members of this group should include at least one of the two student members of the Education Committee. Members generally will be selected from volunteers in the SIAM booth at previous festivals. Preference will be given to members located near Washington DC, where the festivals occur.

Chong Wang January 1, 2017 - December 31, 2017
Rachel  Neville January 1. 2017 - December 31, 2018 (Chair)
Ratna Khatri January 1, 2017 - December 31, 2019

 

Donate · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube linkedin google+