Education Committee

 

Name Email
Term Ending
Ron Buckmire ron@oxy.edu
2016
Edmond Chow etchow@gmail.com
2014
Sigal Gottlieb sgottlieb@umassd.edu
2014
Aloysius Helminck loek@math.ncsu.edu
2016
Eric Kostelich kostelich@asu.edu
2015
Byong Kwon bkwon1@masonlive.gmu.edu
2015
Suzanne Lenhart lenhart@math.utk.edu
2015
Rachel Levy levy@hmc.edu
2014
Mason Porter porterm@maths.ox.ac.uk
2015
Jeff Humpherys jeffh@math.byu.edu
2014
Angela Shiflet shifletab@wofford.edu
2014
Katherine Socha ksocha@mathforamerica.org
2014
Jean-Luc Thiffeault jeanluc@mailaps.org
2015
Peter Turner (Chair) pturner@clarkson.edu
2014
Suzanne Weekes sweekes@wpi.edu
2016

 

Committee Charge

Roles and Responsibilities

The Education Committee has responsibility for supporting the Vice President for Education in SIAM activities related to education, both graduate and undergraduate. These activities include recommendations on education policy and curricula in areas relevant to SIAM; carrying out programs to promote applied mathematics and computational science; and providing advice on general policy issues in education in the mathematical sciences.

Policy recommendations require approval of the SIAM Council and must go through the SIAM Vice President for Education.

In carrying out its roles and responsibilities, this committee oversees several ongoing programs. These include:

Other activities may include:

Structure of the Education Committee

The SIAM Vice President for Education shall chair the Education Committee. The number of appointments to this committee is not fixed, but that number should be justified by the ongoing activities of the committee. The Chair of the Committee shall recommend appointments to this committee to the Committee on Committees and Appointments which oversees the appointment process on behalf of the SIAM President. The length of each term shall be three years. Terms should staggered so that approximately one-third of the terms end each year. Individuals serve additional terms subject to SIAM policies on term limits.  SIAM recommends that appointed committee members serve at most two consecutive terms, although exceptions can be made in special circumstances.

The VP for Education may create subcommittees to carry out the programs of this committee. Subcommittees are ordinarily formed from a subset of members of the Education Committee. In the case that a subcommittee requires special expertise or abilities not found on the Education Committee, subcommittee appointments should go through the Committee on Committees and Appointments process for committee appointments.

The SIAM President, in consultation with the SIAM Secretary, shall make the at-large appointments to this committee. Committee membership should reflect the breadth and diversity of the Society. Committee members should have broad knowledge of the Society and its members.

How the Committee Conducts its Business

The Education Committee traditionally meets twice per year. It holds one meeting during the January Joint Math Meetings; and one meeting during the SIAM Annual Meeting. The VP for Education chairs these meetings, but may appoint a designee to chair in his/her absence. Any business that must be transacted between these two meetings is ordinarily done via e-mail.

The VP for Education reports to the Council and Board twice a year on the activities of this committee.

Professional Development Working Group

The Professional Development Working Group is appointed by the chair of the Education Committee to organize the Professional Development Evening at the SIAM Annual Meeting.  The working group will consist of three (3) members, with three (3) year terms; the second-year member chairs the committee.  Members of the working group do not need to be members of the Education Committee.

Cammey Cole Manning January 1. 2014 - December 31, 2016
Maria Emelianenko, Chair January 1, 2013 - December 31, 2015
Chris Siefert January 1, 2012 - December 31, 2014

 

Renew SIAM · Contact Us · Site Map · Join SIAM · My Account
Facebook Twitter Youtube