New: SIAM Activity Group on Applied and Computational Discrete Algorithms
Thinking of a Career in Applied Mathematics?
SIAM Journal on Mathematics of Data Science is Now Publishing!


Peter Henrici Prize

The prize honors Peter Henrici, a Swiss numerical analyst and teacher at the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule-Zürich (ETH Zurich) for 25 years. The prize is awarded by SIAM and ETH Zurich for contributions to applied analysis and numerical analysis and/or for exposition appropriate for applied mathematics and scientific computing.

Prize Description

Prize Description

The Peter Henrici Prize is awarded ever four years at the International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM) jointly by ETH Zurich and SIAM. It is awarded for original contributions to applied analysis and numerical analysis and/or for exposition appropriate for applied mathematics and scientific computing. The award is intended to recognize broad and extended contributions to these subjects more than for a single outstanding work.

Eligibility Criteria

The prize may be awarded to any member of the scientific community who meets the general guideline of the prize description.

Required Materials

  • Nominator’s letter of recommendation for candidate
  • Candidate's CV
  • Two or three letters of support from experts in the field

Attend the Meeting

The Peter Henrici Prize will be awarded at ICIAM 2019 in Valencia, Spain. Want to attend?

~*Learn More*~

Prize Details

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations.

View All

Selection Committee

Selection Committee


Siddhartha Mishra
ETH Zurich


Habib Ammari
ETH Zurich
Dario Bini
Università di Pisa
Marlis Hochbruck
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

About the Award

About the Peter Henrici Prize

The Peter Henrici Prize includes a $5,000 monetary award and a certificate containing the citation. A lecture is requested and will be publicized in meeting announcements. SIAM will reimburse the recipient for reasonable travel expenses incurred in attending the award ceremony and giving the lecture.

Award Date

The Peter Henrici Prize will next be awarded in July 2019 at ICIAM 2019.

Award Presentation

The prize will be presented by the SIAM President at the SIAM prizes and awards ceremony held during the ICIAM congress. The announcement of the award will appear in SIAM News, the SIAM website, and appropriate electronic media.

Award Fund

The initial funds for this award were contributed by ETH Zurich.

Prize History

Prize History

Selection Committee

Qiang Du (Chair)
Ralf Hiptmair
Siddhartha Mishra
Eric Vanden-Eijnden

Selection Committee

Christoph Schwab (Chair)
Gilbert Strang
Nick Trefethen

Selection Committee

Beresford N. Parlett (Chair)
Martin H. Gutknecht
Randall J. LeVeque
Christoph Schwab

Selection Committee

Martin H. Gutknecht (Chair)
Rolf Jeltsch

1999 Germund Dahlquist


Contact Prize Program