New: Data Science Book Series
Thinking of a Career in Applied Mathematics?
Student and Early Career Travel Awards


SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling

The prize recognizes students for outstanding solutions to real world math problems. It is awarded to two of the teams judged "Outstanding" in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM) administered annually by the Consortium for Mathematics and Its Applications (COMAP). Registration is accepted via the COMAP website.

Registration for the 2019 MCM Opens September 15, 2018

Prize Description

Prize Description

The prize is awarded to two of the teams judged "Outstanding" in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM) administered annually by the Consortium for Mathematics and Its Applications (COMAP). One winning team is chosen for each of the two problems, Problem A, the Continuous Problem and Problem B, the Discrete Problem.

Eligibility Criteria

Any team earning the “Outstanding” ranking from the COMAP MCM judges for a solution to Problem A (Continuous Problem) or Problem B (Discrete Problem) is eligible for the prize. The contest is run for five days, (Thursday through Monday) over a weekend in February. Registration is accepted via the COMAP website from September 15 to the day the contest starts. Contest results are posted in April.

For the 2019 award, registration runs on the COMAP website from September 15, 2018, to 3pm EST on the Thursday the contests starts. The contest results will be published on the COMAP website in April 2019.

Required Materials

  • Registration for COMAP MCM Problem A (Continuous Problem) or Problem B (Discrete Problem)
  • Submission of a solution in the contest
  • Ranking of "Outstanding" in the contest judging

Call for Nominations

Registration for MCM Opens September 15, 2018!

COMAP will begin accepting registration for the 2019 Mathematical Contest in Modeling starting September 15, 2018.

Prize Details

Prize Details

Read the full prize specifications.

Read More

Nomination Deadline Calendar

See all prizes with open calls for nominations

View All

Selection Committee

About the Award

About the SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling

Each student member of the winning team will be sent a $500 monetary award and will be offered a SIAM Student membership for three years. The team's faculty adviser will receive a certificate recognizing the team members.

Award Date

The SIAM Award in the Mathematical Contest in Modeling will next be awarded in May 2019.

Award Presentation

There is no presentation associated with this prize. The announcement of the award will appear in SIAM News, the SIAM website, and appropriate electronic media.

Prize History

Prize History


  • Nanjing University of Posts and Telecommunications
  • North Carolina State University


  • Southwest Jiaotong University
  • Wuhan University


  • Chongqing University
  • University of Colorado, Boulder


  • Zhejiang University
  • Southwest University for Nationalities


  • University of Colorado, Boulder
  • Tsinghua University


  • Zhejiang University
  • University of Louisville


  • Tsinghua University
  • Harvey Mudd College


  • Huazhong University of Science and Technology
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

2009 Harvard University
2009 Southwestern University
2008 State University of New York, Buffalo
2008 Harvard University
2007 Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2007 University of Stellenbosch
2006 University of Colorado, Boulder
2006 Harvard University
2005 Harvey Mudd College
2005 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
2004 Harvey Mudd College
2004 University of Colorado, Boulder
2003 California Institute of Technology
2003 University of Colorado, Boulder
2002 University of Washington
2002 Duke University
2001 U.S. Military Academy
2001 Wake Forest University
2000 U.S. Military Academy
2000 Wake Forest University
1999 Harvey Mudd College (two teams)
1999 Earlham College
1998 Macalester College
1998 Harvey Mudd College
1997 Washington University, St. Louis
1997 University of Toronto
1996 Pomona College
1996 St. Bonaventure University
1995 Iowa State University
1995 University of Alaska, Fairbanks
1994 North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics
1994 University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
1993 University of Alaska, Fairbanks
1993 University of California, Berkeley
1992 Oklahoma State University
1992 Pomona College
1991 University of Alaska, Fairbanks
1991 University of Western, Ontario
1990 California Polytechnic State University
1990 Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
1989 California Institute of Technology
1989 Harvey Mudd College
1988 Harvard University


Contact Prize Program