SIAM | Fellows

SIAM Fellows

SIAM Fellows Program. Honor SIAM members who are recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the discipline. Help make outstanding SIAM members more competitive for awards and honors when they are being compared with colleagues from other disciplines.

SIAM Fellows


Eldad Haber | The University of British Columbia (2022)

For contributions in computational inverse problems, differential equations, statistical and optimization techniques, deep learning, and multi-scale methods.

Aric Hagberg | Los Alamos National Laboratory (2023)

For contributions to network science, dynamical systems, and dedicated service to the scientific community.

William W. Hager | University of Florida (2015)

For contributions to optimal control, optimization theory, and numerical optimization algorithms.

Ernst Hairer | Universite de Geneve (2009)

For contributions to numerical ordinary differential equations and geometric integration.

George Haller | ETH Zürich (2020)

For contributions to applied dynamical systems including the theory of Lagrangian coherent structures.

Sven Hammarling | Numerical Algorithms Group Ltd, Semiretired, and University of Manchester (2012)

For contributions to numerical linear algebra, including the LAPACK project.

Per Christian Hansen | Technical University of Denmark (2015)

For contributions to algorithms for rank-deficient and discrete ill-posed problems and regularization techniques.

Alan Hastings | University of California, Davis (2013)

For leadership in theoretical ecology, helping to lay the foundation for scientifically-based agriculture and resource management.

Michael T. Heath | University of Illinois (2010)

For contributions in computational science and engineering, especially parallel computing.

Pavol Hell | Simon Fraser University (2012)

For contributions to graph theory.

Bruce Hendrickson | Sandia National Laboratories (2012)

For contributions to combinatorial and parallel algorithms in scientific computing.

Alfred Hero | University of Michigan (2020)

For contributions to the mathematical foundations of signal processing and data science.

Michael Allen Heroux | Sandia National Laboratories & St. John's University (2019)

For research, leadership, and community building in software and algorithms for scientific and high-performance computing.

Jan S. Hesthaven | Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (2014)

For advances in high-order numerical methods for partial differential equations and applications.

Desmond J. Higham | University of Strathclyde (2009)

For contributions to numerical analysis and stochastic computation.

Nicholas J. Higham* | The University of Manchester (2009)

For contributions to numerical linear algebra and rounding error analysis.

David J. Hill | The Australian National University (2009)

For contributions to the stability analysis and control of dynamical systems.

Michael Hintermüller | Weierstrass Institute for Applied Analysis and Stochastics and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (2016)

For contributions to theoretical and numerical optimization, and for their application.

Dorit S. Hochbaum | University of California, Berkeley (2014)

For contributions to the design and analysis of approximation algorithms, flow problems, and their innovative use in applications, and in solving NP-hard problems.

Helge Holden | Norwegian University of Science and Technology (2017)

For contributions to nonlinear partial differential equations and related fields, to research administration, and to the dissemination of mathematics.

Philip Holmes | Princeton University (2011)

For contributions to nonlinear dynamics spanning the range from theory to applications.

Michael Holst | University of California, San Diego (2016)

For contributions to computational biology, numerical relativity, and scientific computation.

John E. Hopcroft | Cornell University (2009)

For advances in the design and analysis of algorithms.

Thomas Yizhao Hou | California Institute of Technology (2009)

For contributions to fluid mechanics and multiscale analysis.

Sze-Bi Hsu | National Tsing Hua University (2013)

For contributions to mathematical ecology and in particular the theory of the chemostat and competing species in ecology.

T. C. Hu* | University of California San Diego (2010)

For contributions to network flows, integer programming, and combinatorial algorithms.

Norden E. Huang | National Central University (2009)

For contributions to the analysis of nonlinear stochastic signals and applications in science and engineering.

Thomas J. R. Hughes | University of Texas at Austin (2009)

For the development of finite element methods for solid, structural, and fluid mechanics.

James M. Hyman | Los Alamos National Laboratory (2009)

For contributions to the numerical solution of partial differential equations and modeling of biological systems.